Skip to content

where?…..down in my heart.

April 28, 2008

>Why do old men feel it’s necessary to have long pinky nails?  Do they whittle with it?  Do they use it to scare neighborhood children away from their front yards?  Do they catch prey in it?  I have no idea.  It just seems to be pretty common and I didn’t see that it had any real purpose. 

>Someone slashed my tire last Friday.  I’ve had more people suggest that I was someone from my “5 Guys I’m Glad I Didn’t Marry” blog than anything else.  Was it really that offensive?  I was honestly just thanking him for the car.  It was a nice gesture on his part.  The least I can do is blog about it in a sarcastic tone.

>I’ve recently come to realize two very important things about my current state of mind.  The first being…I’ve lost my joy.  I’m not exactly clear what happened there.  I’ve been so temperamental and have at times even been known to bite.  Janae (my office mate) thinks I should sing “I’ve got the joy joy joy joy down in my heart” on a constant loop all day.  It’s very retro Sunday school of me…but I am giving it a try.  I’m fairly certain she is gonna regret this recommendation before my shift ends today. The second thing is this…and please don’t judge me….I’m tremendously uncomfortable in church.  I shift and fidget more than a 5 year old during a sermon. It’s not that I can’t concentrate. I’m just legitimately uncomfortable. Totally unlike me.  We might need to pray on this one being that  it’s been going on for about 6 months. 

 >My friend Alisha had horribly painful poop shute surgery last Friday.  My friend Mike had extremely invasive back surgery Wednesday.  My friend Jamie had crazy uncomfortable girl surgery last Monday.  Three of my very close friends are at this very moment in significant pain.  I, on the other hand, am laying in bed in rather comfortable sweat pants, blogging.  I should be baking pies or buying flowers or something.  I am completely incompetent at friendship.  Please don’t hold it against me.  At least I’m aware. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2008 7:14 am

    Interesting. You became uncomfortable in church just about the time that your favorite pastor (that, of course, being me) moved away. Coincidence? I think not…

  2. jamie permalink
    April 29, 2008 11:48 am

    I don’t know what you’re talking about, you are a great friend – flowers and pies have nothing on emails that make me laugh till I cry and hanging out making fun of H and griping about boys 😀

  3. jimbarnard permalink
    April 29, 2008 11:00 pm

    i am sorry about your joy. it seemed like you found it today, or at least on the way to the hospital. you filled the room with tons of joy and that really had nothing to do with the best gift basket ever.
    the other day i broke down because i lost my funny. it was very hard for me. really i just let my akwardness overcome me. i think i found it again… i’ve got faith in you too.

Leave a comment