Skip to content

you can grow to be more than a pants pee-er.

August 29, 2011

Because our lives have been so crazy busy for the last month or so, I’ve been writing short small little blog post drafts in my brain.  They go a little something like this.

> Recently I bonded with a college student from my small group over the fact that we both have struggled or are now currently struggling with the embarrassing act of occasionally peeing our pants.  I tried my best to act as an encourager, letting her know that there have been numerous accounts of me peeing my pants in my younger years, and yet I have overcome and managed to become a fulfilled, successful, mature, loving, wife and mother.  I may have embellished on some of those points, but the truth remains the same.  You can grow to be more than just a pants pee-er.  I am living proof of that.

What can I say?  I grew up with some gut wrenching, hilarious friends, most of which I miss dearly every single day of my task driven adult life.  I also tend to hold off on using the bathroom for many more hours than necessary, for no really understood reason.  I hear that’s horribly damaging for the bladder.  And a good standing reputation for proper hygiene.  No one likes a urine stain on their couch.  Trust me.

That was all horribly personal, but that’s what I do here.

>  Judah is really starting to pick up on his words.  As of right now he still only has Momma, Dadda and Bye Bye down for sure.  But since Ba-Ba, Ball, Banana and Book all kind of sound the same when coming from a 1 year old, I’m gonna count them as separate words.  Chris thinks he’s just saying Bye Bye a lot, but I’m unconvinced.  I like to think he’s on the fast track to being a journalistic genius.  Like his mom.

(and then I had to look up how to spell banana…so there’s a point proven wrong with very little effort)

>  A young lady from our small group came over today to take cooking lessons from me.  I haven’t yet stopped laughing.

> It’s after 10 o’clock and I’m still wondering if it’s too late to go in the kitchen and whip up a batch of chicken buffalo dip.  I think it’s not.  Amen.

Nom, Nom.

Love forever,

Your Sassy Bella

10 Comments leave one →
  1. mcgilla permalink
    August 29, 2011 10:22 pm

    i peed my pants yesterday. and i teach america’s children. pants peeing has nothing to do with your lot in life.

    • September 22, 2011 9:04 pm

      i love that we can pee ourselves together and pretend that the rest of the world isn’t totally watching in disgust.

  2. Jenni permalink
    August 29, 2011 10:53 pm

    You also puked on yourself at least once. Just sayin.

  3. venstl07 permalink
    August 30, 2011 12:41 am

    your blog is so awesome- i wish mine looked half this good…

    • September 22, 2011 9:06 pm

      I didn’t even know you had a blog Ven! Also, I’m a full time graphic designer (sort of). That means this should look a heck of a lot better.

  4. Nicole Sneed permalink
    August 30, 2011 10:27 am

    Oh, dear, Laura! I needed that giggle this morning. 🙂 I have to say, since being pregnant and then pushing out a fairly decent-sized baby, my bladder has NOT been the same. So you can blame it on that, too. There is seriously NO bladder control after having a baby. There isn’t even a slight ability to hold in urine when you so much as cough or sneeze, let alone roll on the floor laughing. I will never forget the time when Abram was a few weeks old and Jimmy was changing him and our little fireman decided to hose off a good portion of the room…Jimmy of course flung the diaper over him quickly and then once he thought he was finished, removed it to finish the changing. Well, he wasn’t finished. In fact, this happened FOUR times in a row, including an instance where Jimmy put his hand up to block the flow and it richocheted off his hand and onto my hair and face. There was no stopping me then…I laughed so hard, I literally fell to the floor and wet my pants. I mean, I peed so much that I had to change MYSELF afterwards. It still cracks me up to the day! 🙂 In the 7 months since his birth, my ability to hold it has gotten better, but there are still many times a week that I have to rush to the bathroom after holding it too long saying, “I have to go before I pee myself.” And I’m not even slightly joking.

    P.S. I LOVE buffalo chicken dip…love love love it!!! And now I want some.

    • September 22, 2011 9:07 pm

      It’s good to feel camaraderie as a mom. I just never wanted it to be under such disgusting conditions. 🙂

  5. Rachel permalink
    September 6, 2011 11:09 am

    DId you know you could make buffalo dip in the crock pot? I noticed your twitter post about the dip in the oven. I put my chicken in the crock pot w/about a cup full of water. Let it cook until it is falling apart. Take the chicken out to shred. While you are shredding the chicken you can put the ranch, hot sauce & cream cheese in the crock pot to melt. By the time you have the chicken shredded the other stuff should be close to ready. Add the chicken, mix it up, add some cheese & you are ready to go. Chicken dip is my favorite….I can’t seem to get enough of it. This method works great if you want to through your chicken in at lunch & have it ready by supper…. just sayin’!

    • September 22, 2011 9:09 pm

      That sounds yummy! I’m gonna have to back off the dip for awhile though. It’s not especially cheap to make and I made an entire batch that went 97% uneaten the other day. Once I get my craving under control, I end up throwing the rest away. No good. I’ll have to wait for an actual occasion to cook for people before I try your method.

Leave a Reply

