Skip to content

Dear Judah….happy birthday,

August 20, 2011

Dear Judah Barrett,

Today is the first anniversary of the day of your birth.  The first of many birthday celebrations for you and I. I can hardly believe that an entire year has passed since that crazy morning when you first held my finger in your hand.  To be honest, it’s a little scary to think of the speed at which all of our years together will fly by.  I want to pay them all proper respect, and I’m learning more with each day how to do that well.

With an air of reflection on my own childhood, as well as a look forward to yours, I only have a few things that I want to say.

As you get older, you may notice that people will try to box you in and figure you out based mostly on the things they think you cannot do. Or in other words, for the rest of your life, but especially through childhood, you will be defined by the world on your failures. They’ll take test scores and athletic ability and put you into a certain group that you may think makes you a special or not so special person. But those groups are dumb. They don’t leave room for creative thinkers or people who are brave enough to fail, learn and get better. If you’ve been put into one of those proverbial boxes that you don’t especially like, make the decision that their boxes don’t apply to you. You are bigger, smarter and more resilient than those boxes. Only you get to decide what you do with those test scores or athletic ability. Only you get to decide what you do with your short amount of time on earth.

My hope is that you will spend it being kind and doing what you love. And that what you love is making yourself and others happy. Not the kind of happy that comes from thick wallets or selfish endeavors. But the kind of happy that is contagious through laughter and good, long, ear catching talks. The kind of joy that sees defeat and worries not. The kind that isn’t afraid of bad news, because your heart is firm and trusting in the LORD (Psalms 112).

Since the day you were born, you have been called my “little man”. I know in my heart soon I’ll wake up to find you not so little. But that being said, I have met some who although were large in size and claim, would not fit the bill of “man”. Boys who lead with fear and hate or who can’t find the strength to lead at all. Boys who stagnate and whine, who choose to let the world pass without ever loving correctly or even gather the courage to try. This isn’t where I try to tell you how to be a man, because you have a great daddy to do that for you. But I will say this..work hard to try and be a good man, my son. They are a dying breed. Countless of them are falling by the wayside and are succumbing to the temptation to weaken and break. Stand out among them as a man that is brave and compassionate. Watch your daddy as he watches Christ. And someday, when the time is right, you’ll notice as someone else begins watching you. That is the true test and measure of every human being… to bear fruit and live so that others can watch you and see something worthy of emulating.

I wish I had more I could say without totally boring you.  But nothing I can say will totally prepare you for the life you are about to live. Chances are, you’ll look back on these words as an adult and see that I may have had a few things right. But in the midst of learning and struggling through these next 18 years or so, you’ll probably think I’m confused and out of touch on almost all fronts.

Don’t worry. I don’t hold that against you. It’s part of life, not thinking your parents have any wisdom between them. It’s the looking back to see where you’ve grown stronger that’s fun anyway.

I’ll look back with you and point out all the places you are better for it, if it helps. Because I will be watching you my little man. Every step of every day.

One year. Twelve months. A lot of days.

But not nearly enough.

Here’s to the best year of our life…so far

I love you,
Your Sassy Momma

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jamie permalink
    August 20, 2011 8:26 pm

    Happy Birthday sweet Judah! You have changed so much over this year, and you have an exciting year of learning, love and laughter to come! ❤

  2. Jen permalink
    August 22, 2011 7:50 am

    Happy birthday baby j….and yet another good one Laura Lou…love it, and you, and him, and you!!!

Leave a Reply

