Skip to content

lonesome in lonesomeville

July 18, 2011

I hate it when women write or say things that are self deprecating only for the joy of hearing other women congratulate them on how wrong they are.  I hate a lot of things that most women do in fact.  It’s the disdain of my existence, hating all of the things that most women do.  It keeps me from having actual close NORMAL friendships.  Like for example, I hate the games that women play with their men.  This fact alone has kept my friendship with a co-worker at bay after countless Monday mornings of me telling her how crazy she is after she recounts the countless crazy things she has said and done and texted to her poor innocent boyfriends.  “Why would you text a man you barely know to lecture him about how much time he spends with his friends?  Forget about it!  Take the time for yourself and go see a freaking movie!  Let the man BREATHE! Dang girl.  You crazy.”

These are the things I say to women I know and whom I consider friends.  Which is also the reason why I sit alone weekend after weekend while facebook and twitter tell me this is not the norm for my lovely ladies in crime.

Growing up I have always struggled with keeping girlfriends.  Guys were always something I was good at.  Not dating necessarily.  I was stupid at that.  But friends.  I had a basket full of guy friends.  Now I will tell you that no single male is “friends” with another woman without less than honorable intentions.  Which is why I have no guy friends to speak of now.  Which, again, is why I find myself sitting home alone weekend after weekend while facebook and twitter tell me that this is not the norm for my funny fellows.

Regardless to say all of that, I will say that I know it’s not easy being close to me.  I am harsh and too honest and I think everything is funny, but especially when you fall down and rip your pants.  I offer too much advice.  I like to reference everything back to my own experiences and life issues.  And I’m not the greatest in awkward situations.  Like when your mom dies.  I just have no idea what to say that isn’t sarcastic or quippy.

I’m introspective enough to see the problems and know I should fix me before I ask anyone to invest in all of this.  But gosh dang it…it’s lonely up in this mug.

just being real,
your sassy friend
-me

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephanie permalink
    July 18, 2011 9:13 pm

    I think you just described me. Seriously. I almost copied an entire paragraph of that to send to everyone I know and say “SEE! I’m not the only one!”

  2. July 18, 2011 10:33 pm

    i love you! Thanks for keeping it real! I will be your friend:) No nonsense, I promise:)
    also, love the comment on guy friends… as a wife of a constantly traveling husband, I can’t have guy friends… its just asking for trouble. Glad to see you are like-minded, and wise;0)

  3. July 18, 2011 10:35 pm

    Okay I’m not even gonna lie, I have puzzled for 25 minutes trying to figure out how to strike the right tone with this reply. I give up. I’m just going to say this:

    I don’t know you well enough to tell you how wonderful you are. But I do recognize myself in some of the ways you describe yourself. We’re not exactly alike, but I can relate. There was a time when I had three close, tight-knit good friends, all from different phases of my life.. Then they all moved far far away within 9 months of each other. I have been where you are and it is lonely and discouraging.

    I guess all of that is to say that I like the *you* I perceive throughout this blog (the funny, the serious, the honest, the heartfelt, all of it). I can’t promise that you won’t find me annoying, but I’m not intimidated by the thought of an honest, sarcastic, quippy friend (i once called a co-worker who was twice my age “hun” at her husband’s funeral. DOH! [smacks forehead]) Soooo, you know… as awkward as this is… I don’t know if I’m coming across as creepy or weird… but I’m always willing make a new friend. Or at least get to know interesting people. So if you ever want to chat via email or phone, or watch the same dumb movie from the comfort of our respective homes while sharing snarky commentary on FB chat… your in-laws know me and can pass along my email or FB info. No pressure.

    I don’t want you to feel lonely. 🙂

  4. Katie permalink
    July 18, 2011 11:02 pm

    sing it sister solider!

Leave a Reply

