Skip to content

our little farm house.

June 27, 2011

It’s taken me two weeks and several requests…but I can now happily present you with our blessed home.

Our living area.  Where the living happens.  The windows in this house are incredible.  They are about 12″ deep.  Meaning my window sills now double as shelves and drink holders.  It also means I may never put curtains up.  I just can’t bare to cover up those beautiful window frames.  They weren’t built for it.

Those flowers grow in my front yard.  They are pretty.  And they make this room prettier.

J-man loves it!  Also he has recently fallen in love with having his picture taken.  Which I think means I need to schedule his 12 month (and first ever) photo shoot.  Yes I know I’m a bad mom for not having his pictures taken a hundred times a month by a professional photographer.  Just add it to the list.

Speaking of Judah…I’m totally jealous of his new digs.  Take a look at those rad ceilings.  OH and the floors.  OH AND 3 of those three HUGE deep silled windows.  OH AND can we talk about the vast square footage?  Right, also, let me mention that he has the only true closet in the whole house.  Because, as Chris puts it, people in 1890 apparently didn’t wear clothes and therefore had no need for closets.

I’m so excited for Judah to finally have some floor space so I could bust out this bad boy.  A friend gave it to us, but we had no space in the apartment to make it work.  The light in there…it’s just rad.  And cozy.  And comfy.  And now I’m getting lazy inside just thinking about it.

The reason my son gets such an amazing room is not only because my heart overflows with love and a desire to sacrifice everything I have for him.  But also because the only other bedroom in the house is at the top of these stairs. Stairs without a door.  Hard stairs.  That would be uncomfortable to climb and fall down in the instance that J would like to visit his room or come down to see us in our living space.

Hence, Chris and I have moved into the loft.

This loft.  The one with the great windows that over look our street.  And Judah’s roof.  And a little balcony I’d like to put flowers on and smell while I sleep.

This is our messy kitchen.  I am intentionally not photographing the table as I am knee deep in the middle of a total kitchen table rehab project.  I’ll post more on that subject later.  Prepare to be impressed with my incredible DIY skills.

Yikes.  The chaotic mud room.  Notice the paper towels stuffed between the washer and dryer?  That’s because we can’t figure out how to level a washer in a 100 year old home with roller coaster floors.  It literally moves several feet across the floor.  Hence the unclean laundry piling up due to a lack of available time to hold it in place during every spin cycle.

So that’s it.  Our humbling abode.

There is a warmth coming from this house.  It comes from a joy, a blessing, an unexplainable gift.  One that can’t be paid for with a rent check.  We know that this home will be used as an instrument.  To give and love and shower others with that warmth.  Which is exactly what we are praying for.  

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2011 9:16 pm

    I love absolutely everything about this. Just like I love absolutely everything about the family that lives in this beautiful home.

  2. Patti permalink
    June 27, 2011 10:35 pm

    so what are we going to do with Judah’s walls this time? I’m up for a challenge 🙂

    • June 28, 2011 9:45 pm

      I haven’t quite decided yet 🙂 I HATED to leave what we made for his first room! I loved it so much.

      • Patti permalink
        June 28, 2011 10:14 pm

        well we can do the same thing there if you’d like, and I WOULD LIKE to do it for you, so figure out what you want and don’t argue with an old woman ok 🙂
        Love ya Miss Laura!

  3. Nicole Sneed permalink
    June 28, 2011 8:48 am

    I love that house! It’s gorgeous! And all the floor space is spectacular…I’m totally jealous! And I’m so glad for you that you found such a great house after all that stressing and worrying. 🙂

  4. jeff your uncle permalink
    June 28, 2011 9:44 pm

    Good job. Life is full of ups and downs. You have an UP! I like UPs.

  5. Grandpa and Sandy permalink
    June 29, 2011 11:48 am

    We really, really love your house, it really is perfect. Ok, 3 reallys in one sentence, that should be a record; if nothing else poor grammar

  6. Grandpa and Sandy permalink
    June 29, 2011 11:50 am

    We really, really love your house, it really is perfect. Ok, 3 reallys in one sentence, that should be a record; if nothing else poor grammar

  7. June 29, 2011 1:14 pm

    Great house!

    And I have to know…where did you get that comforter in your room (and is it orange and white like it looks in the picture)? I LOVE it!

    • June 29, 2011 8:10 pm

      Hey NIcole! We actually bought that comforter cover from Ikea when we got married. Sydney has put about 3 holes in it and I keep repairing it because I can’t find anything else I love as much. It is orange and white. I’ve had about 3 people ask me for it when we are done with it. I’m just not sure when that will be and by then I’ll probably be ready to turn it into curtains 🙂

      • July 5, 2011 10:45 pm

        Of course it would be 3 years old and unable to be found now 🙂 it’s really fabulous…keep repairing it until you just can’t anymore!

  8. Jen permalink
    July 5, 2011 9:53 pm

    Love, love, love it to pieces…and you’re not too bad yourself….xo

Leave a Reply

