Skip to content

27, unless my math is wrong.

March 26, 2011

This week I turn 27.  Which I’ll openly admit right now, I had to check a calendar to verify.  Not that I forgot the date of my birth.  Rather, I had no idea how old I was.  And that’s motherhood for you folks.  Yesterday I forgot to brush my hair.  Today I forget my age.  It’s all a part of donating every functional brain cell to the job of keeping a 7 month old from swallowing a penny when you turn your head for one second.

And from what I hear, this won’t change for the rest of my life. One day soon I’m going to wake up on March 26th, check the calendar, and look to find I’m about to turn 57.  At that point, however, let’s all pray I’m out of debt, brushing what’s left of my hair on a regular basis, and only distracted by which flavor of fiber based yogurt I’m going to eat that day.  I really like to pretend that at some point of my life within the next 3o years, life will feel a little less “tight”.  I want to wear out the ropes of my hammock before I’m too old to get into it.

But, if life never slows down because I’m chasing my babies until I’m 57, you’ll never hear me complain.  I’d like to fill up a big house with a bunch of little chubby cherubs just like this one.

Happy Birthday to the one who will gladly exhaust herself for him and all of the chubby faces of all who come behind him.  All the crazy days of her life.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2011 11:16 am

    First things first. WHAT A PERFECT CHILD!!!! I had such a great time holding him yesterday. He was perfectly content to just sit in my lap and play with toy keys. I love that little guy! Thank you for making him!

    and now …

    Is there any particular reason why you chose 57? Do I need to run out and buy yogurt? I’m not 57 yet but I want to be prepared. And for the record … you only love them (your former “babies”) more and more every day that you breath. Right now for you it’s like watching the spark of a firework shell burst from the mortar. Very cool. But every year their trajectory rises higher and higher and higher and then one day they take your breath away as they BURST in all of the glory you prayed into them for years on end. And it is joy. Hammocks, if necessary, can wait for the nursing home. 🙂

  2. Grandpa & Grandma Sandy permalink
    March 26, 2011 6:43 pm

    Happy Birthday
    You are such a great Mom,and of course you know you have a beautiful son
    Love you

  3. jen permalink
    March 28, 2011 7:00 am

    happy birthday. judah and chris are super lucky to have you to laugh at 24/7…or laugh with…love…lots of love.

Leave a Reply

