Skip to content

trade school beauty queen.

March 1, 2011

These days our budget is tight.  And when I say tight what I really mean is, I’m beginning to forget what real cheese tastes like.  That being said, during this budget crunch of 2011, we’ve been forced to make small sacrifices for the sake of our electric bill.  Sacrifices such as new video games, date nights and brand name pop tarts.  It has been an interesting season for us these past few months.  We’ve really had to take a hard look at what is acceptable spending and what we can see will only fuel the fire of paycheck to paycheck living.  Something neither of us really enjoys.

So one thing that I felt I would be able to easily let go of was beauty maintenance.  And here is the obligatory “gasp” portion of this and every blog post.  I haven’t actually had a hair cut since October.  A hair cut people.  Not so much as trim.  And it’s not as if I couldn’t afford a cheapo Fantastic Sam’s snip shape.  I was just terrified to see the result of a $6 haircut.  However I won’t say I wasn’t tempted after I clipped that coupon, thus making the haircut a whopping $5 investment.  I never could break through the paralyzing fear of wearing a $5 haircut home to my incredibly honest husband who has absolutely no qualms in telling me when I need a few extra minutes of mirror reevaluation.

But it would seem as if that is all changed now.  Because my dear friends, I am on the path to throwing myself in the not yet capable hands of beauty school trainees for my first haircut in what is nearing 6 months.  And we aren’t just talking about any beauty school.  The beauty school of choice for this disheveled lady is none other than Vatterott College.  That’s right.  A trade school.  The very same trade school, in fact, that educates some of the finest refrigerator repair men in the St. Louis/Metro area.  An honor they shall hold not because of their unblemished track record in spitting out more qualified air conditioning installers in Missouri, but because they recently offered a very exclusive spa package via groupon.com and I was feeling increasingly vulnerable to the pains of becoming more bushy every second that passed.

So I pulled the trigger.  The package has been purchased.  And Chris hasn’t stopped reminding how much worse I’m about to look.

*driving past the above referenced trade school

Chris:  AAAAHHH YYYEAAAH!!!  There’s your salon!  Vateroff College baby.

Me:  What?

Chris:  I said, There’s your salon!

Me:  No after that.

Chris:  Vatteroff?

Me:  Yeah.  I thought that’s what you said.  It’s Vatterott.  With a T.

Chris:  Sheez.  Who cares?

Me:  I’m only telling you so you don’t go out into the world saying it incorrectly.  I didn’t want you to embarrass yourself.

Chris:  I’m not the one who should be worried about being embarrassed in this scenario.

Me:  …..I wish I could argue that.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Fitzhugh permalink
    March 1, 2011 11:43 pm

    Once you take that step through the doors, you’ll have a hard time going somewhere else! I haven’t been to Vatterott…but I do go to the Paul Mitchell salon school out here & I’ve paid far greater prices at “nice” salons for a much uglier cut & dye job. The students are actually very customer focused & they have a teacher who is experienced (out here at least). Good Luck, but i’m sure it’ll be great! PS—that Groupon looks awesome, I would have bought it too.

  2. Mary Fitzhugh permalink
    March 1, 2011 11:48 pm

    OOOH and if you’re still brave after your spa day you can get a massage at the St. Chalres School of Massage Therapy, I got that for my birthday one year, it was a phenomenal massage!

  3. jamie permalink
    March 2, 2011 12:33 am

    I don’t know what your limit is baby girl, but Kristin Meyer (I think you probably went to school with her) charges $12 and she does a great job. She has her own shop in downtown WR – just if the other place doesn’t work out. Keep up the good work! Love you 🙂

  4. stepanana permalink
    March 2, 2011 8:33 am

    I totally feel that pain — I haven’t had a haircut since November and I’m terrified of a cheapo haircut — good luck!

  5. Jenni permalink
    March 2, 2011 8:04 pm

    Geez trump. Id really like to know where you went for haircuts before. There are good stylists at the “cheapo” places like my good friend tracie. Everyone starts somewhere and I’m sure the good folk at Vatterott really appreciate having willing people to train on.

  6. Jeff your Uncle permalink
    March 3, 2011 12:50 pm

    First off, you would be a pretty girl if you were bald.

    Secondly, anyone can cut your hair whether it is for a lot or a little there remains the chance they could screw up. At least you are going to pay a little. The key to a good cut is having the person understand what you want. What most people like at the high price places is not the overall quality of people cutting hair it is having the one person who understands you and how you want your hair cut and know they will be there next time for you.

    Lastly, beauty is true in the eye of the beholder and love comes from the heart. Over time you will have to rely more on love than beauty, because it often is a fad. I bearly know you as your Uncle-in-law, but I love you three.

    May God grant you blessings.

  7. March 3, 2011 4:40 pm

    I went to The Salon Professional Academy in St. Charles and got a fabulous haircut for $10. The only downside to the whole “beauty school experience” is that although the girl did a great job on my mop, it took FOREVER. I mean 2 hours forever. You may want to pack a lunch.

Leave a Reply

