Skip to content

the final countdown.

August 1, 2010

As of four hours ago, it is officially August.  We are in the month that our little man will be born.  You can deduce from the first sentence by the use of math that as I type it’s incredibly too early to have enough cognitive thought to write, and I must either be sleep blogging, or I’m awake before the sun.  It’s the latter.  And it’s entirely too common these days.  On average, unless sleeping on the couch, I can fairly estimate that I may get up to, but generally no more than, 3-4 hours of sleep.  If on the couch, maybe 5-6.  It’s a conglomerate of many different reasons, the main being heartburn.  But don’t fret.  After tomorrow I’ll be calling the good Dr. Bowtie to see if there is something a little stronger he can suggest for my acidy throaty stomachy sleep problems.  I realized I had a pretty severe issue on my hands when Chris found me trying to sleep in our bed sitting up in the indian position with a body pillow rolled up to support my head.  My entire life I’ve attempted to manage through pain, but that’s just excessive.  I may need to seek further assistance on this issue.

Other issues that tend to awake me throughout the night (moms and pregnant women can you hear me on this?) which cannot be helped through the utilization of a pharmacist: nausea, hip pain, back pain, kicking, braxton hicks, charlie horses, temperature, normal house sounds, and the snoring of a certain someone.

Today Chris and I spent the entire day at the hospital going through a class meant to prepare us for the big day.  I think Chris walked away with a much better understanding of the entire process we are about to go through as well as a ton of good info to better help me stay relaxed through the pain of labor.  I walked away with a packet full of brochures and a much better idea of where the cafeteria is.  And oh what a lovely cafeteria it is.  If you haven’t tried it, I highly recommend it. It’s a culinary achievement for the greater St. Louis area.

One of the highlights of the day was getting to walk down the hall and meet pretty lady Lila Greffet.   Her awesome momma and I got pregnant at just about the same time (since we can’t help but do everything together) and so getting the message that she had arrived got me all jazzed up.  It’s here. The time is drawing near.  I’m going to be sending out “He’s Here!” messages soon.    Speaking of, we are progressing nicely for first timers.  As of last week we were dilated at 2cm and 70% effaced.  We even got some encouragement that I have a “favorable pelvis” for childbirth and a prediction that it should go smoothly, quickly and without any hiccups.  Let’s hope the good doctor knows what he’s talking about.  I’d like to get back to that cafeteria as soon as possible.

Until next time.  I’m off to attempted dreamland again.  Wish me luck!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2010 4:36 pm

    He’ll be here before you know it. I cannot wait for you to meet you’re little man. And when that comes, you’ll forget all about the heartburn and water balloon-feet. But as wonderful as the cafe at the hosp is…Fortel’s delivers right to your room so I highly recommend! 🙂

    And PS: you look amazing!

  2. jimmah permalink
    August 2, 2010 12:29 am

    congrats on the favorable pelvis… i couldn’t quite put my finger on why i liked you so much until now.
    the 2 things you need to know about SJ’s cafeteria is…
    1. Chicken Fingers… finest in the metro area
    2. Taco Tuesday.

  3. August 2, 2010 9:10 am

    Hi Bella, I haven’t actually ever met you, but I am a veteran (as opposed to old) friend of your SIL Kelli. I also had horrible heartburn that could “choke a buffalo” (my words) and found that a pepcid every 6 hours helped to make it tolerable. I also slept in our recliner for the last month that I was preggo. Get ready for a handsome boy with a full head of hair. Some say that the whole heartburn=hair bit is just an old wives tale, but I found it to be 100% accurate. Trust me…I gave birth to a sasquatch. She’s lucky that the excessive ear, nose and arm hair fell out because I was really close to having her waxed.

    Good Luck and God Speed!

Leave a Reply

