Skip to content

look at me go.

July 6, 2010

I said last week I would wrap up all the sewing projects I’ve been working on.  And to ensure that I don’t just totally bore you right off the bat, let me just say, this is the last and final craft blog for a long long time.  I will NOT let this become one of those blogs.  I love those blogs.  I read them daily.  But I’m not really the type to maintain one.  That being said, here is the final blog that has anything to do with me sewing or crafting, at least for awhile.

1: Felt/leftover crib skirt fabric blanket.  No big deal.  It ended up being kind of an oddly shaped blanket, since I cut it way more long than wide, but it’s cute, it matches and it will work great for late night cuddle sessions in our newly refabbed rocking chair (that post still to come….just fyi).

2:  A mini-man bowtie.  This is for the photo op to come when Dr. Bowtie comes to visit the little man and myself after delivery.  I’m excited to get this around his little neck.  Pending that he has a little neck.  As of right now I fear he may be a chubby little bunny.  More on that later.

3:  Travel changing pad for the diaper bag.  May not seem that cool.  And it’s really not.  It was just my first experience with using vinyl.

4:  Nursing apron.  This one was a little more interesting.  I found the instruction for this one online at http://www.Prudentbaby.com.  It was my first experience with using boning and sewing in hardware.  But it actually came out quite nice.  I did sew on one of the straps backwards, which Chris used as emotional ammo to try and break me.  But I just reminded him that if his mother knew how he was speaking to me at that moment she would NOT be pleased. I wish I could say that slowed him down at all.  I let him have his digs considering the moments he finds me making a mistake are so few and far between, the man just needs to be reminded that I am human.


And for now that’s all she wrote.  I think that besides a few simple paci-straps I may be letting the sewing machine take a breather.  For now.  Maybe.  No promises.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2010 10:43 pm

    You are a sewing mad woman! WOW! I hope the nesting bug hits me hard and soon. Love the striped fabric on the changing pad and nursing cover, pretty!

    • July 7, 2010 7:35 am

      I got kind of a late start on the nesting which surprised me. Although, this morning I looked around….and I’m pretty sure I’m done. Although if you do end up having a boy I’m sure you’ll be posting all kinds of really awesome boyish projects I’ll want to try….and then we’ll be right back at square one. But square one is a kind of a fun place to be 🙂

  2. July 6, 2010 11:00 pm

    ok, i am dying laughing at that cute bowtie and even more so, at the reason why you made it! that picture is going to be hilarious!

    but, i do really like dr. bowtie. he was my favorite other than my real doc.

    • July 7, 2010 7:33 am

      Nicole, I too love Dr. Bowtie. He keeps me totally grounded. Every time I even hint around at some internet advice that makes me think I may be doing something random to kill the baby, he shuts me down and says something quippy. Which is totally my style of doc. I plan on taking the bowtie with me this week to show him. I hope he enjoys it 🙂

  3. July 7, 2010 9:20 am

    Looking adorable over there! And I too find the bow tie endearing and adorable! And for when you have little girls, I’m sure you can easily refashion that into a headband! 🙂

    • July 7, 2010 5:07 pm

      pending their heads are as small as his neck. or I could bronze it and put it in his baby book. pending there is a baby book.

  4. July 7, 2010 11:10 am

    You are going to put a bow tie on my grandson?

Leave a Reply

