Skip to content

a real piece of work.

June 27, 2010

As promised, a mini play by play of some of my latest endeavors in sewing will begin to show up here throughout the remaining 8 weeks of this pregnancy.  I realize that some of you don’t necessarily come here to read about cushion covers or changing pads, unfortunately these are things that make up the reality of nesting at it’s finest.  I can’t help but look inward and reflect on the craftier side of me.

This week I will focus solely on what I’ve done with the leftover grey dotted fabric from my first nursery project, the crib skirt.  I intentionally bought well over 2 extra yards of fabric out of fear of failure.  As it ends up, I’m really glad I did cause I’ve had some fun with it.

My first attempt was a Boppy cover.  I registered only for the white water resistant cover, which I received (thanks Tookie) and also use under my new home made cover.  I had no real idea about how to go about making a Boppy cover since almost every single pattern and video online had something to do with zippers or button holes or a gob of other ambitious aspects to the cover I wasn’t ready to tackle.  So I searched and searched until I found this little gem (click to see video tutorial, but be warned….it is possibly the least entertaining thing to watch ever).

Of course their pattern wasn’t free.  So I made my own using the water resistant cover I already had by tracing it for sizing, and then drew out a full inch for a seam allowance.  I could have skipped the paper and managed to draw it directly onto the back of my fabric.  But I figured, it wouldn’t hurt to have a descent pattern for this anyways, in case I ever decided to make another.  From there I just followed the video almost exactly.

And viola.  It took some wrestling to get that bad boy on, but I’m pretty happy with the results.  Especially for being my first project.  Super simple and an excellent start to learning the ends and outs of how to thread the machine I’m using and the temperament of speed and such.  It was easy and took me about an hour.  And the cost, well let’s call that a wash since it was leftover material already accounted for in my original crib skirt post.

And if you look carefully in this photo you will also see the next “leftover fabric” project.  More on that tomorrow, or whenever else I feel like writing about it. But I will say that it’s another cheap, easy, one hour kind of project that turned out to be a lot of fun.

My goodness I’m not at all the interesting woman I once was.

……….

I’m gassy and I watched Close Encounters Of The Third Kind three times last week.

There.  That’s better.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2010 11:47 pm

    Your blog was saved by methane. It has come to this ….

    • June 27, 2010 11:54 pm

      i’m not sure if there is anything on this planet that CAN’T be saved by methane. it’s like…Jesus is the greatest savior we will ever know. but a distant second is the fart.

      that should be amended and added to the bible. i feel like Paul would have been bold enough to say it.

Leave a Reply

