Skip to content

i’m a sewing machine.

June 21, 2010

So because I had a trillion projects in my brain for the nursery, and not nearly enough friends who were crafty enough to take on all my dirty work for me, I decided that I would ask my mom for her sewing machine until the next big holiday or birthday comes up when I can ask for one for myself.  Sadly, I had never actually turned on a sewing machine before, let alone created anything with one.  So, without much delay I got right online and started watching tutorials about threading and something called a bobbin and stitch patterns.  Thank God for youtube.  Seriously, those instructional books are little to no help.  It reminded me of the time when my tire was flat one morning after staying the night at Kelli’s, and we had to watch an online tutorial to learn the intricate science of tire changing.  It all worked out for the best, and we were better women for it (despite the blinding heat).

Well needless to say, I have been a non stop sewing machine since I turned it on.  I’ll have to show a bit of a step by step later this week on the Boppy cover I made tonight from leftover crib skirt material. It’s nice to finally have one coordinating piece, although I expect it to be pretty much the only one.  I have several advantageous projects remaining, one of which is a couple of cushion covers for the rocking chair I got in Chicago last month and a travel changing pad for the diaper bag as well as a changing pad cover for the nursery.  Also a few gifts for a few (thousand) showers I will attend this summer.  And pretty much anything I feel I can make from here.  Who has the time for all this?  Not me.  Which is why I haven’t fallen asleep before 2 am for the past 4 days.  I have too many projects in my brain.

Nesting is tough business.

So is a foot in my rib.

So is being asked 3 times today if I’m pregnant with twins.

And going to the totally wrong restaurant for dinner when meeting a friend.

And the batteries being dead on my remote.

Oh well.  There is always tomorrow 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie Woods permalink
    June 21, 2010 11:01 pm

    if you need help I will be back in a week. it is great to see you so crafty. Store made clear vinyl for 1.49 yd. for the changing pad.

    the mother in law

    • June 22, 2010 7:32 am

      Can’t wait! Thanks for the tip on the vinyl. I was kind of wondering where I could get that. You’ll have to fill me in on what store. I think I may come out to hit the fabric store by your house when you get home anyways. 🙂

  2. June 21, 2010 11:06 pm

    When you get the chance you think you could sew me a cover for my car? I worry about the convertible top. Oh, and maybe something to cover the GINORMOUS heads that my genes produce. Hey, thanks!

    • June 22, 2010 7:32 am

      not enough fabric in the world……for the car cover.

  3. Patti permalink
    June 21, 2010 11:53 pm

    Laura,
    Debbie has made several boppy covers, we have two. She can help with all your ideas and I know she knows how to thread a machine….and make curtains…..and all kinds of fun stuff.

    • June 22, 2010 7:35 am

      Oh I’m very aware of how crafty my mother in law is 🙂 and in a good way even! In fact I have a pair of her curtains in my bedroom. I only took these projects on myself knowing I wanted to learn the sewing machine anyways and because I had 230486 projects to do and I wasn’t going to ask her to do all of them for me. Although I know she would….happily 🙂

      Because she rocks!

Leave a Reply

