Skip to content

a baby space (part deux).

June 10, 2010

So because we all too familiar with the pains of painting and un-painting the walls of an apartment, Chris and I knew early on that we wouldn’t be painting Judah’s room at all.  Because of that, I also knew I would have to get creative to implement any kind of color scheme onto the walls of his room without getting cheesy. I immediately thought of the 15 random frames I had laying around our guest room, future nursery, from an art initiative we started last summer at Matthias.  I didn’t think I really wanted to frame family photos, so instead designed prints to correlate the colors we wanted to showcase most predominately in his room.


My favorite thing on this planet is painting with acrylics.  Not only because it goes on smooth with very few coats, but also because it’s uber cheap and without smell.  So I headed to Michaels and loaded up on some pretty greens and blues and greys (oh my).

I even used poster board and the same acrylic paint I used on the frames as a matte behind a few of the prints I designed.  I know this one is kind of hard to read but it says “you are my sunshine”.  Kind of a fun reference to a family tradition on Chris’s side.

One of my favorite things about this photo wall is that instead of inundating it with a bunch of trendy prints, I used 3 of the frames to make DIY chalkboards.  It was just about the easiest thing ever.  I had been searching for months online for cheap and fun chalkboards in different sizes and came up totally defunct.  So a friend referenced me to a fun crafty blog and it said that a little chalkboard paint on the glass of an old frame was the perfect surface for a chalkboard.  So of course I had to give it a try.

And to my surprise, it worked like a charm.

I totally took this photo on the wrong setting, so I know it’s hard to see, and a few of the frames are crooked, which is driving my neurotic pregnant brain crazy, but you get the gist.  All together a really cheap and colorful way to fill up one jazzy wall in Judah’s new room.  In fact, let me break it down.

Frames: $30 (Goodwill and yard sales)
Acrylic Paints:  $5
Chalkboard Paint:  $15
Prints/Matte:  $0

So that’s all she wrote for today.  Chris is gonna handle the next big project.  Which is great cause I’m ready for a nap.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 9:34 pm

    The “moon beam” (which is what we sang to Chris) carries on to the sunshine! I LOVE THE ROOM!
    Debbie

    • June 11, 2010 5:39 am

      I’m glad you like it Debbie. Really soon I’m gonna need your help on a few sewing projects. I hope you are up for it 🙂

      • Debbie Woods permalink
        June 11, 2010 10:49 am

        I am so up for sewing and rocking and holding.

  2. Jenni permalink
    June 10, 2010 9:54 pm

    I’m going to goodwill tomorrow to buy some frames. Then I’m going to Michael’s to buy some paint. Then when you’re not napping make me some prints. I want this all over my living room.

    • June 11, 2010 5:40 am

      You got it. I charge by the hour though. Standard freelance rates apply. And I also require health benefits. Which just means you have to feed me at several intervals throughout the project.

  3. Stephanie Vallo permalink
    June 10, 2010 10:21 pm

    BEAUTIFUL!!!! I love your prints! You are so talented!

    • June 11, 2010 5:40 am

      That’s a compliment coming from the Cake Boss.

  4. June 11, 2010 7:40 am

    Judah’s going to have the coolest nursery on the block. How cute and fun!

  5. June 11, 2010 8:17 am

    Ahhh, love it! I’m glad you finally found chalk to “finish the job”! It’s all adorable and I love it (oops, I already said that, my bad!)

    • June 11, 2010 8:55 pm

      I kind of love it too. It looks even better in person. Since we will be maternity leaving at the same time maybe you’ll get to come over and see it soon.

  6. Nicole Sneed permalink
    June 22, 2010 10:13 am

    I absolutely LOVE it! You gave me some great ideas! I apologize in advance if I ever happen to “borrow” these ideas…I will definitely try to give you the credit though. 🙂 Seriously, such a cute nursery!!!

Leave a Reply

