Skip to content

happy girl.

June 2, 2010

This is my niece Elle.  She turned 4 last week.  This is her new “bell bike” as she likes to say.  Not because it has Belle from the movie on it, but because it has a bell she can ring to tell other bikers that she is also now biking.  At least that’s what she told me.

Elle is so happy.  She helps me remember the amazing joyful imaginative newness of being 4.  You can’t keep her down.  Not to say she doesn’t have her moments, as does any 4 year old. But then she just ends up right back here.  With the wind in her tassels and the sun on her cheeks just waiting to pop out some freckles.

I kind of love her.  A lotta bit.  As if you couldn’t tell.  She’s gonna make a great older cousin to help Judah get in all kinds of mischief.

i.can’t.wait.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. jimmah permalink
    June 2, 2010 6:03 pm

    i know people re-tweet things… can i re-blog this??

  2. June 2, 2010 7:04 pm

    Oh, she’s already got a list started of things she wants to teach all the new kids in the family!

    • June 2, 2010 9:17 pm

      I hope these things include potty training and a love of reading.

    • jimmah permalink
      June 2, 2010 9:45 pm

      can we bring back “ge-go” (instead of here you go)?

      • June 2, 2010 10:29 pm

        Chris still says it. All the time. I forget that there’s another way to say it sometimes.

  3. June 2, 2010 7:47 pm

    I have a lot of favorite pictures of Elle but this might be my favoritest favorite. I’m using you tonight as my “Guest Blogger.” Meaning I’m stealing your entire blog and even giving you credit. Which makes it less stealing. 🙂

    • June 2, 2010 9:19 pm

      It’s not stealing if I say you can. I’ll think about it.

Leave a Reply

