Skip to content

they say.

May 6, 2010

I’ve always heard that in order to get really good at anything, and in order for others to notice that you are good at something, consistency is key.  They do say that.  And I agree with it whole heartedly.  Which is why my sole purpose of writing here today is to finally and simply admit that I am not good at blogging.

Or clogging.

Or anything of the “ogging” family actually.  Including flogging.  I wasn’t even good at pogging when it was popular 15 years ago.  I was so bad at it in fact, I never even learned the rules of the trade.  I would just gather the pogs, stack them, unstack, and repeat.  See…..bad.

I’ll never make a promise to get better at any of my “ogging” deficiencies.  But I will make an honest effort.  For now I’ll only say that I am working on some good material concerning my latest efforts in the great “make some room for a baby crusade of 2010”.  Turns out that living in a two bedroom apartment, with limited closet space, tends to infringe in my natural tendencies to keep useless boxes from old electronics THAT JUST MAY NEED TO BE RETURNED SOMEDAY!  Okay the honest truth is, I keep old boxes from functional electronics so that if some day they stop being functional I can make educated phone calls to uneducated customer service representatives who tell me they can’t help me unless I have the serial number from the bar code on the original packaging.  BOOYAH customer service rep!  I happen to have that right here.  Bet you didn’t see THAT coming did you?  I only had to hang on to that box for 12 years and sacrifice the comfort and organization of my family.  But it paid off.  Now didn’t it?

(This scenario has never actually happened.  But on the off chance that I could actually win a conversation with a customer service representative, I hang on to hope by whatever means I can.)

I basically said all that to tell you that I had to throw away the original packaging from my last three cell phones this week.  It was hard, but I figured well worth it.  I am that much closer to being able to house a child.

Not that it in any way truly prepares me for the rigors of changing black tar diapers, but if I’m willing to give up my dreams of totally pwning some customer service hacks, I haven’t got much else to lose.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole Sneed permalink
    May 7, 2010 11:52 am

    Oh my gosh…I thought it was JUST ME!!! LOL I do the exact same thing! I hold on to those boxes “just in case” I need to send something back, take them back to the store, call for help, etc. It especially happens A LOT with the Amazon.com boxes that my stuff is shipped in. Unfortunately, my boyfriend is the “pitch it” kinda guy, so it usually turns into..

    Him (after the box has been sitting in the same spot for weeks): “How long are you going to keep this box?”
    Me: “I don’t know.”
    Him: “What are you keeping it for?”
    Me: “In case I need it. What if I’m going to send it back?”
    Him: “You’ve been using it for awhile now. Do you need to send it back?”
    Me: “I don’t know. Probably not. But that’s a good box! I could use that to put a present in at Christmas!”
    Him: “Does it have to sit here until Christmas?”
    Me: “Not necessarily. But I don’t want to get rid of it.”

    So, then the box gets put into the basement, where it will likely be forgotten and not used at Christmas time, and will only be noticed again when we go to get something from our stack of junk in the basement.

  2. jimmah permalink
    May 7, 2010 6:28 pm

    your outdated banner says that your arteries are good at clogging.

  3. Jenni permalink
    May 7, 2010 9:47 pm

    You sound like a bit of a hoarder. I’m gonna find you one day in your apartment filled to the brim with christmas decoration and a walkway made of pizza boxes and 6 squished cats under all the baby’s old broken toys.

  4. May 10, 2010 7:08 am

    If you think it’s bad with electronics, wait until all the baby gear boxes start rolling in: what if it’s recalled…what if it breaks in 3 months…what if Judah doesn’t like the swing/rocker/bouncey thing! It never ends! 🙂

Leave a Reply

