Skip to content

quick, someone find me a day ruler.

March 19, 2010

One thing they never tell you about child raising is that for the rest of your life, at the drop of a hat, you are expected to know your child’s name and how old he or she is.

-Erma Bombeck

I’m seriously jaded.  Like not even a little bit.  Totally and irreverently jaded.  For the past few years, and I know you’ve heard me mention it before so don’t act all shocked, I can’t remember Chris’s birthday to save my life.  The only way I can tell you when it is, is if you you happen to remember when Earth Day is off hand to give me a comparison.  I know Chris’s birthday lays on one side of it.  So if Earth Day is the 21st….well then Chris was born on the 22nd.  No wait.  I don’t think that’s right either.  Maybe it’s on the same day as Earth Day.  Holy crap being a wife is hard.

Irregardless to all of this.  Most people believe I can’t remember his birthday, or any other significant date I should totally remember and plan for months in advance, because I am selfish.  Allow me to disprove you (as is the actual point of this blog….to disprove all you haters).

Today while attempting to make plans with a friend for later this month, I mentioned that perhaps next weekend may be best to meet up….but wait maybe not cause it may be my birthday…hold on while I find a calendar….what is today?….yep I guess my birthday is in 8 days…next weekend won’t work…sorry, let’s shoot for the weekend after maybe.

Yeah it’s just that bad people.  I don’t even have an idea of where we are in the current month let alone where the most important holiday of the year is into relation to today.  And not even 3 days ago I had a lengthy conversation with a co-worker wherein I asked her repeatedly if she was serious when she kept referencing to the day as WEDNESDAY!  I was clearly under the impression that we were repeating Monday and should therefore not label it as anything BUT Monday.  I’m nothing if not an advocate for realism.

Last year when we were out of town for Thanksgiving, my brilliant 3 year old niece sincerely asked if we would be able to make it home for Arbor Day.  I sat complacently for awhile a little concerned we would still be on vacation.  Because you see, if I can’t remember my own birthday, how can I possibly remember that Arbor Day is in the month of May?

Or is it even?

I actually have no idea.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2010 9:35 pm

    Well. The week after your birthday? That’s Easter.

    Sheesh. And you laugh at my memory…

  2. March 19, 2010 9:38 pm

    Lenord just threw his computer away because he realized you will never no way no how remember his birthday either. But he wanted you to know.

    (His absence has no effect on the efforts of http://www.citizensforKunken.com)

  3. barb permalink
    March 22, 2010 12:36 pm

    Chris’s birthday is our wedding anniversary. Remember? I had a cake baked just for him! And of course, you two got married on Dave’s birthday! See how easy that is! And I sorta helped with your cake. It’s all about the cake!

Leave a Reply

