Skip to content

wake up cough.

February 23, 2010

I went to bed last night with what I assumed was an allergy induced tickle in my throat.  Woke up this morning with a pretty nasty cough.  Tonight I’m going to bed with half a voice and that same old feeling I always seem to feel right before that big nasty respiratory thing hits.  I haven’t had one yet this year so I consider myself lucky.  It wasn’t that long ago that I would spend my entire winters clutching the inhaler and going through 2-3 rounds of antibiotics within an incredibly short amount of time.  One respiratory thingy over the course of the whole winter….well I’ll take that.  I’ll even call it progress.

Unfortunately I’m pretty sure I can’t take much to relieve this little respiratory thingy whilst harboring life in my gut.  I’d kill for a Mucinex right now.  Well maybe not kill.  Maybe just hug and kiss and adorn someone with compliments.  Awesomely enough, I’m supposed to sing in a wedding next weekend.  If I can’t take anything to help with the repairing of these vocal cords before then….well let’s just say I’m gonna have to pull off a mean lip syncing session.  I sincerely hope the bride doesn’t read this.  If you do Emily….I’m lying.  About all of it.  I’ve never even seen an inhaler.  My lungs….they’re not at all scarred or damaged or affected daily by the pollution levels in the air.  I’m actually planning to jog to the ceremony next saturday.  You’ll see.  I won’t even be sweating.  Or singing maybe.

Only time will tell.  If you ask me, the demo tracks sound much better anyways.  I don’t see it as much of a loss for them.  In fact, maybe this is just God’s way of protecting them and ensuring their beautiful day is as beautiful as humanly possible.  If they happen to seem very sad about my damaged vocal cords, I could always put together a lovely interpretive dance program before then.  Imagine the grace and beauty of a pregnant woman weezing and twirling in front of all their closest friends and family.

That needs to happen.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Scott permalink
    February 25, 2010 1:42 pm

    nice blog.

  2. Mary F permalink
    February 25, 2010 8:44 pm

    I know you don’t personally know me, but I babysat your husband and boy do I have stories…for another time ;0) While my babysitting exprience can’t help your voice, my speech therapist advice may…recommendations for the voice-drink lots of water (will help thin the gunk), hot lemon water or decaf tea…avoid anything with caffeine (you may be anyway) and vocal REST-keep your conversations to a minumum and no shouting. Its not mucinex, but hope it helps a little. Good Luck!

  3. jimmah permalink
    February 26, 2010 3:44 pm

    we could teach you how to sign real quick (no, this isn’t me setting up a punchline about debbie).
    you might want to check to confirm that the word milkshake doesn’t appear in the lyrics though… that sign isn’t so much church appropriate.

    • March 11, 2010 11:19 pm

      none of the words chris remembers in sign language are church appropriate. it’s no wonder we found each other. none of the words I remember from spanish class are church appropriate either.

Leave a Reply

