Skip to content

more or less.

December 15, 2009

Over the course of the next two weeks or so, I will be writing posts focused completely on things I will either be doing more or less in the coming year.  For example, I will be eating less junk food.  Rollerblading more.  Yelling less.  Sleeping more.  See?

To start us off….the top two ‘more or less’ from my list.

1.  Be less negative: As you all know we just returned from an amazing ski trip in Colorado.  While on this trip, we shared a house with about 40 of our good friends from church.  During the course of this vacation, I somehow initiated a game of “let’s all take turns of giving eachother affirmations”.  For my friends and husband I had lovely little things to say like “you have a wonderful sense of humor” or “you look really handsome when you aren’t trying to grow a disgusting beard”.  However, when it was my turn, without exaggerating, I’m sad to tell you no one had anything nice to say.  At first it was silent.  Then one very honest gentleman (not my husband…because he’s smarter than that) chimed in to say “you’re negative” and “you’re really a pessimist” oh and also “you see the glass as half empty”….but I suppose in an effort to make it sound nice he also added “but I think the world may need people like that”.  Ouch.  Sooo…taking his tidbit of wisdom in stride, I am re-examining the perception others have of me.  I will admit that I am a realist.  I do not claim to see the world through rose colored glasses.  I just had no idea I was seen as such a negative force.  When I told my boss about this instance, imagining she would laugh with me and I could put my mind to ease, she simply replied with “you must see that right?”.  Ouch again.  So here it is. I don’t feel the glass is half empty.  But introspection is not exactly the best measure by which to label yourself.  I guess I have to go by how others see me live out my life to get a strong view of who I am.  Which is apparently very negative.  Enough so that it needed to be said multiple times, in different ways, by several people. In an effort to correct that, I will from now on be monitoring how I react and speak to others in a more positive and encouraging way.   So shut up about it.  I’m better than you.

2.  Take more time: I have a pile of books on my nightstand.  Most don’t even belong to me.  Most have been lent to me by gracious and lovely people who do actually read the books they buy.  However, my tendency to take the time to read lately has been almost nil.  Beyond simple every day best seller kinds of books, I also have been selfish with my devotion/prayer time.  10 minutes at the end of the day at best.  That’s just ridiculous.  So, this year will be the year of taking more time.  Time for learning and quiet and me and God.  This may require me to actually get out of bed when my alarm goes off.  Or it may require me to turn off the tv.  Or maybe both.  Here’s hoping I find the strength.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2009 11:55 pm

    1. You are one of the best writers that I know. And I read a LOT. Okay, I’m talking kind of “stream of consciousness” writing. You are amazing at it.

    2. You care. You care about people, situations, circumstances. You have a heart for people. Sounds rather scriptural to me. Did I mention that you have an insane love for God?

    Anybody who cannot say 2 good things about you isn’t paying attention.

    • December 16, 2009 10:48 pm

      You are too kind. Also remember that my husband himself, your son, was sitting there silent. Sometimes his timing is just awful 🙂

  2. Stephanie Vallo permalink
    December 16, 2009 12:27 am

    I think my favorite part is that you called it ‘Be Less Negative’ instead of ‘Be more positive.’ I love it! 🙂

    • December 16, 2009 10:49 pm

      I’m so glad you read this Stephanie. Sometimes I don’t think people will ever catch the little things like that. I just need my sister in spacial specialties to back me up.

  3. Jeff your Uncle permalink
    December 16, 2009 9:52 am

    I don’t know you well. I am a bad uncle because of that. But I do know many good things about you. (Wow and I don’t even know you well.)
    1. You are pretty. (I can see that!) 2. You love your husband. (That is well documented) 3. You are a good writer. (I read your blog.) 4. You love your dog.(I love mine Sally) (Everyone loves a dog lover except Satan.) 5. You got style. (I seen how you decorated the new place) 6. Your an important part of a family. (If you don’t know that then you aren’t smart which I was planning on being #8) 7. You care about issues in a loving and not selfish way. (I am not 100% on this one, but it appears that way from what I know.) 8. You are smart (If you do not understand #6 we will have to remove this one.)

    Most importantly you are God’s. I have heard you have given yourself to him. While sometimes you may fail and want to take yourself back. We all do that. You are wonderful and great and a mighty army when you give yourself to Christ. 0. You are wonderful and great and a mighty army becuase you gave yourself to Christ.

    With love…
    I could go with more stuff but I need to do some work… my day can’t be all about you! 🙂

    • December 16, 2009 10:50 pm

      what a lovely list of affirmations from a man i’ve only met once. thank you sir 🙂

      • Jeff your Uncle permalink
        December 17, 2009 6:49 am

        You actually met me three times I know of. Thank you! 🙂

        • December 20, 2009 8:15 pm

          oh sheesh…..my memory fails me again!

  4. Patti permalink
    December 19, 2009 11:21 am

    Laura,
    I think that when your friends were not saying anything is was because it was difficult for them to find the right words to describe “you”. Things that I miss about having you around everyday are 1. your amazing laugh, it’s contagious – when I hear it I want to laugh too. 2. the way you love and care about people, it’s very real. 3. that sense of humor that makes me think, you have a way of putting everyday things in perspective-in a good way. Don’t be so hard on yourself, you’re great and I know plenty of people who feel the same way. Your friends just couldn’t put it into words but it doesn’t mean they were thinking good things.

    • December 20, 2009 8:14 pm

      that’s sweet Patti! you are the master encourager 🙂

      • Patti permalink
        December 20, 2009 8:20 pm

        anytime – but it’s true

  5. amber permalink
    December 21, 2009 11:15 pm

    Yes, the world needs people like you. but not because you’re negative – not a word I would have chosen for you! Insightful to the human soul, and the effects we have on the world and those around us, but not negative. A realist yes, but not a pessimist. You don’t expect the worst, or the bad, only the truth that is so often not made of fairytales. You keep the me’s of the world more grounded. So, here’s to your wit and introspection! Not just anyone would be so bold as to travel the path on which you have embarked.

    • Patti permalink
      December 22, 2009 10:45 pm

      Well said Amber!!! I don’t know you but it sounds like you know Laura. Merry Christmas to all!!!

Trackbacks

  1. more or less: part deux «

Leave a Reply

