Skip to content

i caved.

October 17, 2009

There are few things that I wouldn’t do for the happiness of my husband.  Unfortunately there are few things that make him happy which don’t require a higher credit limit from Visa.  Most recently he has been asking for a new phone, which I will admit he needs desperately as his has stopped retaining a battery charge for longer than 3 to no minutes.  I have way too many ridiculous things to tell him in the middle of the day that require him to be accessible at all hours.  That being said, under normal circumstances, I would have no problem investing in this particular need of his.  Unfortunately all the phones he just ‘must have’ require that we upgrade our current phone plan to a data package, thus significantly increasing our monthly bill.

As we are approaching a time in which we should really be buckling down on our monthly spending with the prospect of him returning to finish his collegiate degree, I simply could not justify this increase without real reason.  Because I’m cheap, but not a complete dictator, I told my husband that if he could list 5 legitimate reasons for this ‘need’ we would find a way to make it work.  The following was his list of reasons for needing access to the world wide web via his cellular device:

1.  I’m in charge of planning mens fellowship nights in our small group….what if I need to quickly throw together another game board night on a moments notice, but have no immediate access to a computer?

2.  Someday when I get a job that requires I be accessible via email I will need my phone to allow this function….I should be preparing myself for that day to come now.

3.  …….

4.  ………….

5.  ………………….

Convincing argument huh?  It was tough to argue.  So I didn’t.  This morning I added web access to our package, and this evening he will be picking out his new phone.  This means several things….one is that my husband is capable of many things, but debate is not his strong suite.  Second….I’m a huge huge pushover who thinks his idea of debate is nothing short of adorable.

Good for us.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. swoodsy permalink
    October 19, 2009 11:15 am

    That is how all Woods’s work. Ask Amanda, she is finding out first hand as well.

  2. Jeff your Uncle permalink
    October 19, 2009 11:26 am

    You are beautiful and nice and a push over. ChrisTopher knows how to pick the good wife. Can I borrow some money… just kidding…

  3. Mamma Di permalink
    October 19, 2009 9:30 pm

    The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree. You are definitely my child. I’m proud of you!!!!

  4. October 20, 2009 8:02 am

    laura, i, too, love that there are no weinie shots here. i mean, i know it wouldn’t make any sense in this post, but still, respectable (lol)

    can’t wait to see you friday!

Leave a Reply

