Skip to content

day date day.

September 27, 2009

Today was officially ‘DAY DATE DAY’ as appointed by my husband.  I honestly had no idea what a ‘DAY DATE DAY’ was until about 9 hours ago.  It apparently mostly just entails making no plan whatsoever outside of creating guidelines for what time we can go back home.  Today our goal was to not arrive hone until after 7pm.  Whatever we did up until that point was fair game.  We could have gone cow tipping and it still would have been called a ‘DAY DATE’.  We did not cow tip.  We did however randomly drive up to a movie theater to see what entertainment they could offer us after an unsuccessful attempt to go shopping.  And can I just say that from now on I will never pay money to see a movie again unless I receive 3D glasses and the promise of a slight case of motion sickness!?

I freaking saw stuff in 3D! Lest I remind you that I have zero depth perception?  I live life in a 1D world.  Life moves by me as if it were drawn on paper.  I am shallow in character and in sight.  No joke.  This dumb movie about falling meatballs and BLT’s was so full of depth that I nearly teared up.  It was like a deaf person hearing their mothers voice for the first time.  Truly miraculous people.  Truly miraculous.

We seriously did have a good time today.  I felt bad after arriving home last night from an overnight women’s retreat, Chris really wanted to take me out for a nice seafood dinner.  I convinced him to give me an hour to watch some Hulu and relax a bit before we left.  7 hours later I was still clinging to my comforter and begging for 15 more minutes of sleep.  There is something about a weekend women’s retreat that can seriously be so exhausting.  I wish I could tell you what it is…but there is nary an explanation.  Perhaps I was secretly drugged.  Perhaps I was oxygen deprived from talking too much.  Perhaps even it was on account of the hairy spider nest nestled 13″ above my pillow thus preventing sleep from lasting any longer than 12 minutes at a time before I remembered my face could at any moment be chewed apart by a swarm of common household arachnids.  I suppose it could have been any one of those things (but probably not the being secretly drugged part).

The point of all this being….I may sometimes sleep with spiders in my hair, and I may even go cow tipping on a Sunday afternoon as a romantic gesture to my husband, but above all I can now say that I have seen the beauty of 3D….and nothing can take that away from me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeff your Uncle permalink
    September 28, 2009 6:12 am

    I am glad you enjoyed your 3-D experience. I have never seen a 3-D movie. Chris invented a nice DAY-DATE for you both. He is Mr. Cool.

  2. Julie Laramie permalink
    September 29, 2009 2:06 pm

    If there was a “like this” button, I would click it.

  3. Nicole S permalink
    October 2, 2009 8:44 am

    This is such a great idea…and very sweet of your hubby to think of it! I might see if I can sweet talk my man into doing something like this. Wish me luck! lol

Leave a Reply

