Skip to content

i’m 1/16 heretic, on my fathers side.

September 8, 2009

Chris: Can I make beer with Matt?  It will cost like $60 or $70 for starter stuff.  Please.

Me: Yes.

Chris: Sweet.  I’m quitting my job to start a brewing ministry.

Me: That seems radical.  Please don’t quit yet.  It generally takes a few years to generate a profit.

Chris: Profit? ….It’s a ministry.  I have to gift it away no matter how tasty it is.  It’ll never be better than the gift of Christ.

Me: The charity of drunkedness.  Can you show me where that is in the bible or are you just shooting from the hip?

Chris: Get an ESV…you’ll find it.

Me: I don’t need an ESV to spot a heretic.

Chris: I’m only 1/16 heretic and indian and something else.   Not sure what that has to do with gifting beer.

Me: You know I’m starting to doubt your book smarts.  Maybe being an entrepreneur isn’t your best move.

Chris: So this means you don’t want to invest in my ministry?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeff your Uncle permalink
    September 9, 2009 7:13 am

    Did this conversation happen before or after Chris hit his head slipping on the poop the dog dropped? 🙂

  2. September 9, 2009 7:34 am

    i would have thought this a total fabrication except that Chris really is 1/16th indian. And because, well, he’s Chris and this is totally like the conversations I’ve observed from you two!

  3. September 9, 2009 7:35 am

    i just noticed the blog title on this post! can’t deny that either. 🙂

  4. kellimcgill permalink
    September 9, 2009 8:05 am

    oh how i love my littlest brother!!

  5. Jim Woods permalink
    September 11, 2009 1:48 pm

    I always thought Chris was the one who was most like me….his “Woodsy” uncle. I’m proud of ya, boy!!

Leave a Reply

