Skip to content

apartment therapy.

July 26, 2009

One of my favorite design websites has been apartmenttherapy.com these days.  I love looking for inspiration for spaces like mine that are limited and yet “room changing” at the same time.  

So as promised I have delivered photos of our new apartment.  I will say that there are aspects of it that I love. The most being that Chris has allowed us to switch our “sides of the bed” so that we are now laying appropriately according to our charging cords for our laptops.  Pathetic but oh so true.  

Here are a few glimpses into our new life in our bigger small space:  

IMG_0337

This is my new photo wall.  I found the initials at Marshalls Homegoods store at the Mills Mall.  The “L” was actually in a white frame that I painted gold to match the rest.  I made the “W” blocky to add some contrast to the scripty and mushy feel of it all, I also found the frame for it at Goodwill and painted it gold to match.  

IMG_0338

It’s located in our front hall and greets us as we walk in the door.  It is one of my favorite parts of the apartment and is a great reminder of all the fun memories we had in Colorado with our friends and family.  Every photo on this wall is taken by a different photographer present at our wedding.  I love the perspective from each of them and I was so lucky to have each of them there.  

IMG_0340

This is our dining room, taken from the view of our living room.  Chris chose that art piece to ad some color in our palette.  I’m a fairly neutral person who enjoys the crispness of black, white and tan.  I think he enjoyed adding a blast of color on one wall to catch the eye.  At our last apartment he tried oh so hard to convince me to paint one wall a bright yellow color.  Unfortunately for him he let me go buy the paint on my own.  Needless to say we went without a bright yellow wall.  Although as I go along, with his help, I might begin to get braver and less “neutral”.

IMG_0341

This is a view of our over stuffed and wonderful to nap on couches.  In the day the windows provide great lighting in our living room and dining area.  However at night we are without much light and it becomes quite dark….can’t wait to go lamp shopping next!
IMG_0344

This is my new favorite piece.  I got this at IKEA during my latest shopping trip.  It’s just a little different but not so much that it looks out of place.  I like it and wish I could have purchased the other pieces to go with it.  

IMG_0349

I love the afternoon light in our new bedroom.  It seriously shimmers gold through the blinds.  Makes a nap feel like dessert.

IMG_0350

And Sydney is always happy to oblige me in my napping endeavors.

IMG_0359

Chris refused to let me buy a new headboard for our bed, so I improvised.  Of course he is the vinyl king…so he helped me install this sticky shenanigan.   

IMG_0360

Still not sure how I feel about all that pattern, but I’m hoping it leads my husband into letting me look for a new bedspread.  I’m thinking about going something with a light slate blue or teal or maybe even stick with the orange only go with something a little less squiggly….who knows. I suppose the sky is the limit.  The nice thing about vinyl is that if tomorrow I decide that it’s not for me…I can just remove it.  No big deal.  In the mean time, I’m trying it out.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2009 7:15 am

    Your wall with the initials and wedding photos is a great idea! And kudos on Chris’s choice for the dining room. That blue really pops, but still goes well with the colors, furniture and space. I love how the green stems and white flowers are repeated on the dining room table… it’s like the print came to life! Enjoy your new home. It looks great already.

  2. kellimcgill permalink
    July 27, 2009 7:38 am

    It looks great!! You had a busy week 🙂 Hope you’re loving the new crib!

  3. July 27, 2009 7:51 am

    I love it all! Nice job. You two have such great decorating sense!!!

  4. Jeff your Uncle permalink
    July 27, 2009 10:52 am

    It looks like you are a good designer. It looks like God has blessed both you and Chris. My prayers are with you both. May God give you more blessings.

    Your Uncle in-law Jeff…
    PS. I loved the Funfetti thing. It was cute.

  5. lifeofaprimadonna permalink
    July 28, 2009 11:25 am

    Laura,

    You apartment is super cute! It is very stylish and adorable!

  6. August 3, 2009 6:53 am

    love the initials and the art above the couch…looks familiar!!! well, kinda familiar, I mean, my initals are different and my picture is hanging vertically, but still…:)

    • August 3, 2009 4:43 pm

      Yeah I had to remove the hardware on the back of the art piece over the couch and install new hardware so that it would hang horizontally. That’s how dedicated I was to it 🙂

      miss you!

Leave a Reply

