Skip to content

growing pains.

July 24, 2009

Well we have officially moved in.  I have 3 unpacked boxes left…and they are all decorative items which I’m unsure of where to place at this moment.  Tomorrow is my official “hang-up-photos-and-finally-decide-where-everything-must-go-so-I-can-finally-feel-at-rest” day.  I realize there are 2 finally’s in that statement but after only 3 days in our new place I still feel as if it’s been an eternity since I’ve been familiar with my surroundings.  I won’t lie and tell you that I could  immediately find our apartment even after circling the complex 3 times the day before we moved in.  This wasn’t important news to my husband who recognizes that I may have the worst sense of direction since Hellen Keller.  He simply gives me step by step instructions during which I almost always tune him out by thinking….I wonder how my anscestors, who undoubtedly passed down to me my awful propensity to get lost in even the most simple of situations, felt their way through life without mapquest.  I bet if we had a computer forensics professional come in, they could prove that I visit mapquest more than facebook or google.  And that’s tough to beat.  

So my true desire is to post some apartment pictures tomorrow after I get everything I want on the walls up and some natural light pouring in here.  The downside to apartment living is that most of the time I’m finding they rarely come with light fixtures.  I guess they find it’s more economic for them to simply build electrical outlets attached to switches.  So…it turns out I don’t have enough lamps for the size of our new place.  It’s a little dim in here tonight.  

In other news, a few months ago I posted a video (see below) about a couple in our church who shared the news of an amazing blessing with us.  I would ask those of you reading this, even my non-Matthias goers to be praying for them as they are dealing with the news that the odds have suddenly been stacked up strongly against them and their 3 (after the video was shot and played they found out they were expecting triplets) expected children.  The Holms’ have remained very strong believers that God’s glory will be shown through this situation, good or bad, but it is their hearts desire that it is done by the miraculous saving of all three children.  

I don’t know either of them very well, having only spoken to each of them no more than a handful of times, yet they have both been such an amazing example to me of faithfulness and sincere servanthood.  They are so full of joy and reverence and I hope that you will join me in praying for them and their children as they continue to pray that through the miraculous saving of each of them that He would receive all of the glory and honor that is due.  

Until tomorrow.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. jimbarnard permalink
    July 25, 2009 12:45 am

    left, right, right, left.

    those are directions to your apartment and a cheat code to mike tyson’s punchout… enjoy!

  2. July 25, 2009 8:44 am

    Wow. You just slammed Helen Keller in a blog.

    • July 25, 2009 4:21 pm

      I’d be willing to bet money that Hellen Keller would agree her sense of direction is a little more than skewed.

Leave a Reply

