Skip to content

a short reprieve from sarcasm.

July 5, 2009

Recently, I was approached at church about facilitating a new program in which the creative talents of our congregation would be implemented into our services each week.  This means that anyone who may be blessed with the talents of photography, video production, creative writing, painting…and so on…contacts me (or I have the pleasure of searching them out) as the person who coordinates it into our weekly worship services.  A bit daunting but so far it has been an amazing blessing.  

IMG_0267

My first challenge of course, was finding an economic way to display art that wouldn’t break my little piggy bank. I started searching out deals at local Goodwill’s for cheap frames and display ideas.  The frame on the front is marked at .50$…believe it.  I wanted to be sure that all the frames matched, so I bought a bottle of gold flake paint and a small paintbrush and got to work.  

The second challenge was finding a way to encourage the artists of our congregation to involve themselves in this new and somewhat revolutionary way of worshiping the God that bestowed upon them their awe inspiring talents.  So far a few artists have stepped up to the challenge and it has been nothing short of …..

IMG_0283

 

IMG_0296

 

ah.may.zing.

I love creativity.  It seriously keeps me from going crazy.  It’s times like these that I don’t feel bad for not scrapbooking or sewing together tote bags with my initials on them.  I get the opportunity to scour the pews for creative people and in turn they let me work alongside them to worship with it.  I’m one lucky blessed lady.

Just thought I’d share a bit of what I’ve been up to, and the ways in which I have been allowed to serve in my church body.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2009 12:27 am

    that’s SO much fun!!! i absolutely LOVE that your church is seeking out new ways to worship and glorify God. i don’t know if we’ve had a conversation about that topic, but it happens to be my passion/holy discontent with the Church in america. too much of the same old stuff. we are made in the image of the Creator. why can’t we be creative? you are blessed indeed, my friend.

    though i hope the reprieve from sarcasm doesn’t last TOO long! if it turns into a strike, i’m leaving!

  2. jamie toolen permalink
    July 6, 2009 9:39 am

    I miss you! But I’m glad you’ve found a church family to call home 🙂

  3. Nicole Sneed permalink
    July 13, 2009 10:33 am

    That’s awesome! I was going to suggest Deals or Dollar Tree for frames since they only cost a dollar, but if you find cheaper ones at Goodwill, that’s great. I really like the way you painted them gold, it looks fantastic!

Leave a Reply

