Skip to content

it’s like the oprah book club only with less people who care.

June 23, 2009

 IMG_0278I was thinking long and hard about how I would post a list of all the corny silly books I would be reading this summer.  I thought instead a picture would suffice along with maybe a few recommendations.  I also have mixed a few serious books in there.  Gotta keep the brain working properly…unfortunately chick-lit very rarely ever does much besides make me grateful for a good husband and a functioning brain.  

Speaking of a good husband:

IMG_0282While I was photographing my books I noticed him peering over the arm of the couch.  It’s so rare I catch him on camera while at home, since he’s almost ALWAYS lounging in his underwear.  There are so many times when he is doing something adorable and I feel the urge to document it, yet can’t due to his lack of appropriate clothing.  Kelli has suggested I just throw up a censor bar and post them anyways.  I’ll think about that one.  Isn’t he kind of a fun guy?  

Anyways, getting back to the book pile.  

>The Glass Castle by Jeannete Walls.  I put this bad boy on top because so far this summer, it has been my favorite. I would seriously recommend it especially for those of you who aren’t in to the chicky stuff so much.  It was at times a bit gritty….but still a total page turner.  Great story, great dialogue, amazing talent and I even walked away feeling like I had learned something.  

>Crazy Love by Francis Chan. I have started this and have so far found it pretty intriguing.  So many times any more, Christian authors love to get so wordy so as to prove their worthiness as published writers.  Francis speaks as if he were just catching you after a Wednesday night service to chat about how crazy the love of his God is.  Pretty interesting so far.  I’ve taken a short reprieve from this right now though to finish the next one….

>My Sister’s Keeper.  I wanted to get this one done before the movie came out this weekend so I wouldn’t have to constantly avoid spoiler alerts.  So far so good.  I did mention to someone today though that I’m still not clear on who I should be relating to.  Every chapter is from the perspective of a different character…and at this point I love them all, yet all of them are so different.  I’ll let you know hopefully by this weekend if the movie is worth seeing.

>The Wonder Spot & The Girls Guide To Hunting and Fishing: Both of these books were written by Melissa Bank and I read them in succession.  I started with The Girls Guide and found the first half of the book to be amazing.  I was seriously on my way to calling it as my top summer read…until I finished it and discovered it sucked.  I gave The Wonder Spot the benefit of the doubt, hoping that the author had realized the error of her ways and written a better second novel.  Eh.  No such luck.  Turns out you can write a great book, finish with crappy endings….and still make it on the best sellers list.  Good to know for my first novel.  I only have to work hard for the first 200 pages.

So from there I have a lot left to go.  I’ll be interested to see if I get through all of them.  I’m hoping for the best.  It would help if I had a hammock.  

Every day I dream of a hammock to read in.  At night I dream up crazy adventures of wizard children and their pet robots (my husband plays a lot of video games in front of me that cause my brain to do awful things in my sleep).

Please tell me that’s normal.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2009 10:11 pm

    I have a hammock and I plan on hanging it on the patio under my deck. It is available to you and I will even provide a refreshing beverage as you recline in my back yard with one of your summer reads.

  2. June 24, 2009 6:54 am

    I really don’t think you’re summer reading list would be complete until you give Twilight a try…I know I’ve become a total Twi-hard…and the thought of you following in my footsteps and loving these vampire-laden love stories scares you…but, think about it!

  3. June 24, 2009 7:45 am

    The Glass Castle is one of my favorites. I see you still have to tackle The Secret Life of Bees…I kinda felt the way about it that you did with the Melissa Banks books…but I tend to get that way about half way through a book. I get the “get on with it” syndrome.

    I’m reading one right now that I’m totally loving. Water for Elephants. Let me know when you need more reading material. I’ll pass it along.

  4. June 24, 2009 8:06 am

    I’m currently in the middle of Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris. I picked it up as an impulse buy at Boarders because 1. I needed a laugh, and 2. it was buy 1 get 1 half off. I am enjoying it, but I feel I should tell you that it’s the first book I’ve read in literally years that was not for the purpose of academic study or spiritually seeking. So my standards are probably pretty low in terms of entertainment value.

    • June 24, 2009 8:27 am

      i heart david sedaris. in fact this weekend i was in Barnes and Noble browsing and found a table of his books. i pointed to them and let chris know that if he’s ever in search of something to buy me…any of those will do 🙂

  5. June 25, 2009 9:08 pm

    chris’ consistent effort to create a pantsless household is impressive. unlike any effort of recent memory.

  6. June 25, 2009 9:53 pm

    I finished the Sedaris book tonight. I liked it, but I think the first half was much better than the second half. I’d read another of his books though.

Leave a comment