Skip to content

oh charter…how i hate thee….let me count the ways.

June 7, 2009

I got rid of our cable channels this week.  For two reasons.  One…charter is an evil organization which has been created solely for the purpose of furthering the demise of a culture based on morality and justice. Two….I watched the season premier of Jon and Kate Plus 8 twice and cried both times.  I seriously have never felt so insignificant in my entire life.  If I could have added less to human kind during those moments, I would have seriously been surprised.  After several hundred phone calls and countless transfers to India, I’ve washed my hands of it.  Why in the world do I want to spend a fortune every single month for the pleasure of knowing that I’m supporting a company responsible for the addiction of several million people to “Rock of Love: Bus Tour”?  Of course, regardless of two trips from Charter employees, our channels still have not been removed.  They have been removed from our bill yet still remain in our living room.  Eh…what can I do but choose not to partake in the temptations they are graciously bestowing upon my household despite my best efforts to have them disposed of?  In retaliation, my internet has been out for the past 24 hours and is now only crawling at near snail speeds, as I’m connected to the wall via ethernet. According to tech support, the next available technician won’t be available to visit us until next Saturday between the hours of 1pm and 3pm.  Did I mention that I hate charter?  What do we feel the moral implications are of using the word hate in this instance? Discuss.

In an effort to combat their futile attempts to make me dumber, I have begun reading.  When my sister  and brother in law cleaned their office to make room for their new kiddo, I was given a stack of “chick lit” to read through.  So far that has been a mindless great way to get myself in the habit of choosing to read rather than stare at classless reality tv shows.  I have read 3 in the past few weeks, but I’ll be taking a short reprieve from the girly stuff to get serious with a new one I just bought by Francis Chan called “Crazy Love: Overwhelmed By A Relentless God”.  He actually spoke on this subject at Passion a few years ago when Chris and I attended in Atlanta, GA.  Let me just say that it melted my face, so I’m a little anxious to see what he has to say in this book.  

I think I’ll begin keeping a record of all the books I get through, even the girly ones (once I finally get through all the ones I have right now), here.  Maybe that will help me stay motivated to lay off the boob tube and do something a little more productive with my time.  Speaking of, in the next week or so I should be posting some pics and whatnot of a rad new project I’m organizing at church.  It may be the first and only DIY project I will be able to post on here…as I am probably the least DIY’er on the face of the planet.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2009 9:16 pm

    Sorry but … what is a “DIY”er?

    • Bella permalink*
      June 7, 2009 10:24 pm

      do it yourself’er. i’m more of a “buy it at target”-er

  2. Teresa permalink
    June 8, 2009 6:21 pm

    Charter and its circular logic can make you crazy(er). We had a 30 minute conversation last year to set up our new e-mail account wherein they told us they could not help us until we gave them our PIN number…which we would not be receiving until the arrival of our first bill…did I mention that we were setting up a NEW e-mail account…and therefore WOULD NOT BE RECEIVING A BILL FOR WEEKS??? All of this back and forth between Wentzville and India. yikes. I feel your pain.

Leave a Reply

