Skip to content

got a brain like a sponge (bob square pants).

June 1, 2009

So the unfortunate circumstance to having a horrible memory, whilst also having an incredible mind, is that very often you think up something so brilliant the human kind will never be the same again upon hearing about it, and you pat yourself on the back and think about what you will wear to your awards ceremony, but by the time you attempt to retell your brilliant idea to someone worthwhile you realize you have already forgotten what it was you thought up all together.  Which pretty much sums up why I hardly ever write anymore.  All day long I run a brilliant dialogue in my mind that sometimes causes me to even laugh outloud, but very rarely am I ever able to capture it anywhere that makes it legally binding or worth money or anything before it is lost forever in the abyss of my forgetful brain.  

Which pretty much just evens me out to someone who doesn’t think up anything cool at all.

I’m not even ashamed, although I should be, to admit that it took me 3 years to memorize my own husbands birthday.  I’m still not really that confident in telling you right now that it is on April 22nd.  He’s not even sad anymore when I ask him his information while filling out important documents.  He just knows that I’m partially impaired and can’t be held responsibility for my own stupidity.  It’s not uncommon for people to tell me about situations in which I had acted in some very outlandish way and I will have absolutely no recollection of it at all and won’t actually accept it as truth until shown photos. 

Like on Mothers Day when my mom was telling a story about drug testing…Lord knows why….and caught me off guard by telling some story about a good friend of mine from high school using his brothers urine for his weekly drug test.  I sat for the rest of lunch just trying to remember what in the world she was talking about.  Never in my life have I had a friend that used his brothers urine for anything….nor do I think I would have told my parents I had a friend that required drug testing unless I myself was drugged with some sort of truth serum. Is it sad that I have to use my near elderly mother (semi gross exaggeration) to dictate my highschool years back to me over family dinners?  

My 3 year old niece is even way better at the memory game than me, and you can’t even say it’s because she cheats because so do I.  

Anyways, I said all that to say this…

I think I forgot to use shampoo this morning in the shower.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2009 9:04 pm

    Has anyone ever told you that you are the absolute master of run-on sentences?

  2. June 2, 2009 8:08 am

    LOL…just laughing here!

Leave a Reply

