Skip to content

proud little papoose

May 19, 2009

This weekend marked my mothers graduation from Lindenwood University with her masters in human resources. As the respectful daughter that I am, I attended the ceremony (with book and husband in tow) so as to cheer when cheering was needed.  Of course I won’t lie and say I didn’t also snore a bit whilst several other thousand people talked over the key not speaker, who just so happened to be Mr. Louis Brock.  And just so we are clear…good ole Lou is good at a lot of things.  Key note speaking not being one of them.  Doesn’t mean I’m not grateful for his talents as a St. Louis Card….but I’ve seriously never in my life heard anyone with quite so many anecdotes for life relating back to farming.  At least that’s what I think it was about…I kind of lost track after a bit.

IMG_0176

Mr. Louis Brock himself and the poor woman with what must be sprained wrists
who helped translate him for the deaf peeps in the room.

grad
Inconspicuous photography during important ceremonies…something we’ve perfected.

dad
In fact, no no is safe from our distractions (hi daddy).

kid

This is our little friend we made who, funnily enough, was just as bad at paying attention as we were.  I also secretly believe this is how Chris tends to feel on the inside when asked to sit still during adult situations.

IMG_0190

Here’s the accomplished young woman I sometimes refer to as “Momma Di” (that’s pronounced DEE… not die…cause that’s awkward and I just wanted to clarify)

hat

So it rained pretty hard on our long trek out to the car.  Because I am the most resourceful person ever, I used a gift bag as a hat.  

I not only received laughter from complete strangers, which I am totally used to after 25 years of unwarranted ridicule, but also blatant pointing.  Chris wouldn’t even walk by me, rather 10 strides ahead of me.  The strange thing was, I could hear him up there making strange noises every time someone would honk their car horns. So here he is…going ‘MEEEP MEEP’ in an ear piercing nasally sound with me trying very hard to keep up with him as strangers point and laugh at me.  I think it’s possible that when God created me, He thought to Himself…”I’m gonna have to make a custom mate for her…poor thing will end up alone if I don’t”.  Eleven months later…poof…Christopher was born into the world screaming ‘MEEEEEPPPP MEEEEPPP’.  

Anyways.  Congrats Momma Di.  It’s been a long time comin…but you’ve finally arrived.  I’m sure you are tired and I think right now you might even be in Cancun, so rest while the resting is good. I’ll stay here and make sure the world is still working a full forty.  

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Anita permalink
    May 21, 2009 8:45 am

    I wish I could have been there to see your momma Di get her diploma. I love to have a masters in HR, but I am too lazy to go through the efforts. As for your gift bag hat, I call that resourceful and most likely when people were pointing fingers, they were actually thinking they wish they had a gift bag as well.

  2. Bella permalink*
    May 21, 2009 5:36 pm

    of course they were coveting my hat! why else would they be pointing?

  3. Mama Di permalink
    May 25, 2009 5:34 pm

    Thank you for the lovely words. You were my inspiration. Had it not been for you I doubt I would have ever attempted it. I have said it for many years and I will continue to do so for a very long time, “When I grow up, I want to be just like you!!!” You set a great example. I love you forever.
    PS I agree, Lou Brock, heck of a ball player..stinks as a speaker “another example of a cross pull” ha ha!

Leave a Reply

