Skip to content

achieving the unachievable.

March 28, 2009

This evening I accomplished what few would believe to be possible.  I managed to throw my own surprise party.  I know what you are thinking…”seriously Woods…it’s scientifically impossible to surprise yourself without a significant short term memory problem or a large amount of Jose Cuervo”.  First of all, I don’t even know what Jose Cuervo is because I love Jesus.  Secondly, I will be forced to agree that it is impossible to surprise yourself.  That is why I didn’t surprise myself with a surprise party.  I surprised the party.

You see….if the people actually hosting your party don’t know it’s your party, it’s much easier to surprise them with the news that they are throwing you a party.  To be more specific, our pastor and his wife asked us to dinner this evening, unknowing of the fact that it was my silver birthday, and we happily agreed as we had no other plans for the evening (this is mostly due to the fact that when you can say you are in your mid twenties you begin to lose the urge to actually go out in public or brush your hair or fake laugh at lame jokes…it becomes much more attractive to stay in and eat cheeseburgers).  I of course offered to bring dessert so the act of announcing my birthday could be followed up excitedly with funfetti cake.  

I’m brilliant.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2009 10:52 pm

    Brilliant? Yes. But also quite warped. And that’s why we love you so.

  2. March 30, 2009 1:00 am

    Only you…

Leave a Reply

