Skip to content

stimulating conversation.

March 12, 2009

I’m always so excited to watch my niece Elle, despite the fact that she is two and just learning the fine art of stretching her tantrum throwing abilities on for days at a time.  Overall, the reason I think she gets upset is mostly due to her overwhelming brilliance and our tendency to try and continue teaching her things she doesn’t feel are necessary to her normal way of life.  Like sitting on the toilet or brushing her hair. 

Yesterday, Elle’s mom (my SIL Kelli) asked if I could come over and hang out with the little one while she took her husband (Elle’s dad Joe) to the ER for a little appendectomy.  No big deal.  I was more than happy to oblige as it meant that two hours before the 5 o’clock bell rang I was allowed to climb out of my cube cocoon and break free like a pretty little butterfly.  I did so very gratefully.  The whole way there I was arguing with Chris over the phone about who should be leaving work to go.  I was all “I’m ALREADY on my way!!” and he was all “yes…but…I could be there sooner”….and then I was like “Yeah…like maybe 2 minutes”…and he was like “….i’m just trying to be helpful…no need to yell”.

img_0080Which ironically is a lot less stimulating than the conversations I have with my 2 year old niece. When we chat…it’s 100% imagination time.  We make up songs and talk bout places that don’t exist and people we’ve never met.  Yesterday there was a girl who really liked lions and also had bright blue eyes.  When I asked Elle what her name was she said “Clump…but I call her Clumpy”.  Which would instantly make me think that in Elle’s mind this girl was either suffering from the mange or is extremely disproportionate.  But in all honesty…in Elle’s mind she was just a girl with bright blue eyes who dug on untamed felines and had an uncommon name. Because she’s brilliant.

When Elle decided it was song time we started out with the famous old tune “And if that diamond ring don’t shine…momma’s gonna buy you a…” and then Elle would fill in the rest.  It generally always rhymed.  But it was rarely a real word.  Like if I said “And if that purple shoe won’t run…momma’s gonna buy you a….” and she would say something like “a murkey ton”.  Then I would come back with “and if that murkey ton turns gross…momma’s gonna buy you a…”….  “luney soss”.  

Eventually, once Chris arrived and grew tired of our little song…he literally curled into a ball, put his head under the bed and whimpered.  I’m not even sure why he fought so hard to get there.  It always ends the same way.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2009 8:32 pm

    I would rather read your blog than the swimsuit edition of Sports Illustrated.

    • Bella permalink*
      March 12, 2009 8:40 pm

      there’s really not much to read there. but i’ll take the compliment.

  2. Nicole permalink
    March 13, 2009 8:55 am

    I can totally see why you say your niece is brilliant…she sounds very entertaining to me! You gotta love the things that come out of a little one’s mind! 🙂

  3. Amanda permalink
    March 13, 2009 1:12 pm

    I say things like that…and nobody thinks it is funny, let alone brilliant.

    • Bella permalink*
      March 13, 2009 11:19 pm

      it only matters what YOU think Amanda. I laugh and nearly 98% of the things that come out of my mouth. I’m running at about a 25% ratio when it comes to things that other people actually find amusing. Let alone brilliant.

Leave a Reply

