Skip to content

escaping the grid

February 25, 2009

In light of these tough economic times, it is very important to have a plan you can be comfortable with in order to avoid certain unpleasantries.  For example, some people are cutting back in most of their normal expenditures in an effort to begin saving for a possible financial meltdown.  Some are working very diligently at reducing their debt to income ratio.  In most cases, no matter how much thought gets put into  disaster planning, it somehow manages to always take you by surprise and in some cases, can cut you off at the knees.  Because of this, I have created a fail safe plan for my husband and I.  It’s very intricate so try to follow along and read very intently.  

The first step is to sell every earthly possession outside of comfortable shoes and disguising hats, and collect as much liquid assets as possible.  This includes but is not limited to, every lame savings bond we’ve ever received as well as my now dilapidated 401k.  Following a complete liquidation, we spin the globe and choose any city which may be in need of two american newlyweds willing to sell souvenir shot glasses on the beach.  We jump off the grid and never look back.  Of course when I say never, I mean never.  This is mostly due to the fact that we would be running from a large amount of school and vehicular debt.  

Now it’s not as if I don’t have complete faith our new president will be the savior we’ve all hoped and prayed for, but I just think it’s necessary to have a well thought out “plan b”.  What’s yours?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2009 10:07 pm

    Hey … in case he’s holding out on you, Chris has a savings bond. Better shake him down.

    We have a plan B too. First, we sell the dog. Wait. We don’t have a dog. Okay, I cash out my iphone, hi tech tv and … uh. never mind. Sheesh. We buy a tent and live under a bridge. Preferably a bridge with full medical insurance and a power plug for a nebulizer. Now THERE is a plan I can live with ..

  2. Adam permalink
    February 26, 2009 3:35 am

    I’m sincerely hoping that I’ll be able to cash out my rather impressive collection of witty quips and antique toothbrushes.

    But in all seriousness, I’m gonna look into buying gold.

  3. swoodsy permalink
    February 26, 2009 11:00 am

    I am going to burn this “mother” down!!!

Leave a Reply

