Skip to content

fruit basket.

February 8, 2009

Dang it.  I just finished the most well written and eloquent post EVER.  In the history of blogs.  Ever.  It mostly had to do with my SIL Kelli being pregnant with her second child and how excited I am about it and how hard it has been knowing this secret for so long while the rest of the family sat by unknowingly and how I came to accidentally find out this information.  Unfortunately, that post must have been found TOO exceptional by the blog gods and it was quickly destroyed.  So here is the synopsis.  

Kelli is pregnant.  YESSSSSSSSSSS!

– I have known for quite some time.  I claim and can prove that I have known since the very beginning.  But officially I have known since the woman employed at the spa Kelli and I patronized quite some time ago, unknowingly exposed the secret by simply asking both of us which one was pregnant.  After I had a mini stroke and quickly recalled every feminine hygiene purchase from the past 6 months, I realized it wasn’t I who was to answer with an affirmative.  Again….YESSSSSSS!

-I have a visual example of the length of time I had to carry around this information while the rest of the world (kind of) sat by innocently.  On the left is a kumquat.  It represents the size of my new niece or nephew at the point of my realization.  On the right…a lime.  Significantly larger in size.  It’s a representation of that same niece or nephew’s current size.  So…needless to say…a significant amount of time has passed.

photo-17

– That all being said, I can barely explain how excited I am about this.  I love my niece Elle so much, it sometimes is difficult to go more than 7 days without spending some serious time with her.  I may be the most excited aunt in all of America.  Watch out Baby Gap.  I may be the catalyst we’ve all been waiting for to stimulate this failing economy.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. kellimcgill permalink
    February 8, 2009 8:04 pm

    thanks, laura! i love that you knew so early…and that i wasn’t blamed with you (officially) finding out so early.

    dude, seriously…baby gap had better stock up! we’re going to be dangerous 🙂

  2. February 8, 2009 9:22 pm

    I’m glad I DIDN’T know! I would have been a miserable Clevelander! Debbie and I are so grateful to God for the privilege of being here for this extremely momentous and historical event! But you won’t find me eating any baby sized fruit. Just to … weird.

    Congratulations, Kelli & Joe!

  3. Bella permalink*
    February 8, 2009 10:07 pm

    You have no idea how many times the thought crossed my mind that we might have to put you and Debbie in the hospital if you found out your daughter was having another baby and you didn’t get the job in Belleville. It would have been catastrophic. I’m glad you and Debbie get to be here for it all 🙂

Leave a Reply

