Skip to content

paying it forward is NOT recession proof.

February 1, 2009

It has always been a strong belief of mine that one good action generally precipitates another.  That being said, I’m fairly certain that I may be experiencing the exception to the rule.  For example….Wednesday night I responsibly gathered all of our monthly bills and mailed them while on a grocery shopping run.  In an effort to be more frugal I decided at the last second to save the stamp and simply drop off the envelope containing our rent check at the leasing office on the way home. However, in the all the hub bub of attempting the all too elusive “I live in an apartment so I won’t be making more than one trip to carry in 78 bags of groceries” I must have dropped that envelope.  And because I was so focused on the task at hand…I didn’t even notice it was gone.  That is, until the next morning while taking the now potty trained puppy outside when I noticed it slightly slipped under our front door.  Someone very kindly saw that check…and rather than stealing my identity (only to be disappointed in finding out that I’m not worth much besides an exuberant amount of education debt) they kindly returned the check to it’s rightful owner.  

Because I’m a smart and realize the importance of Kind Gestures I was looking for my opportunity to return the favor.  Because I have no idea who started this cycle, there was no way for me to effectively do that.  Sooo…while doing laundry the next evening, I found myself at a cross roads.  It seemed one of my fellow washer/dryer deprived neighbors had neglected to move their clothing over to the dryer portion of their washing cycle.  I could have done the kind of nice thing and simply put the wet laundry on top of the dryer whilst I enjoy free reign of both machines.  However, I myself know the frustration of finding my laundry thrown about by a strangers hand all willy nilly.  So, I thought perhaps it would be a nice gesture for me to not only place their laundry in the dryer…but also invest the full $1.25 into ensuring that they would feel more confusion than frustration.  

Just about the time I began feeling I had redeemed myself…it happened.  

Friday morning, with the snow piled high and a puppy filled with excitement due to passing school children, I got tossed.  Face first, then butt first, then hands and knees first.  It was horribly sad.  Especially for me, someone who despises anything cold, especially snow.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2009 10:42 pm

    Sometimes karma sucks. Earl told me to tell you.

  2. amber permalink
    February 3, 2009 10:13 pm

    I’m thinking the neighbor with the nice car gave it back because he appreciated the generous letter that you posted for him.

Leave a Reply

