Skip to content

yack in the box.

January 27, 2009

This evening on my drive home, while rolling along at a staggering 25 miles per hour, I suddenly realized that my gas tank was dangerously low to an empty status.  The nearest exit was about 30 feet in front of me, thus causing me to slide across a lane of traffic and nearly down an icy embankment  At the time I reached the gas station I was listening to my favorite drive time radio show which was being interrupted by a 5’oclock news update.  

After I placed the nozzle in the tank I unquestionably climbed back into the car in order to avoid the bitter cold.  As I began regaining feeling in my extremities, I realized the news reporter had begun to laugh.  It seemed that earlier in the day a woman had patronized a local fast food restaurant only to realize AFTER she consumed a cheeseburger that the wrapper was covered in blood.  Upon questioning the employees of this restaurant, the cashier admitted to having a bloody nose while attending to her meal.  Just as I thought I couldn’t gag anymore, the news reporter finished his story by announcing which restaurant had been responsible for this deplorable act.  

I was sitting right in front of it. 

Like…literally.  I could see the employees mulling around inside.  I could see the unsuspecting and hungry customers in the line.  And I could see half of the drive up line quickly driving away,  as they heard the same broadcast no doubt.  It was one of those moments you never think you will experience in your life. Utter disgust paired with extreme disbelief that I would have the  great luck to be in the very place at the very second that it would forever be discredited by the most listened to afternoon drive time show in the St. Louis market.  

Oh…and let this be a lesson.  Never ever scarf a burger in your vehicle without fully inspecting for blood or other bodily excretions.  You never ever want your name spread throughout an entire market of radio listeners as the woman who was such a barbarian with her lunch that she inadvertently ate someone else’s insides.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. mcgilla permalink
    January 27, 2009 8:02 pm

    so you drove through and got dinner, right?

  2. January 27, 2009 8:10 pm

    MMMMMMM! Yummylicious!

  3. kellimcgill permalink
    January 27, 2009 10:24 pm

    oh. my.

    next time we are together please inform me of the location on this lovely establishment.

  4. January 27, 2009 10:48 pm

    I seriously just vomited. I’ve been crazy vomitous lately, and you know that.

  5. Butch permalink
    January 28, 2009 12:08 am

    Jack in the Box…..enough said! Ranks right up there with Taco Bell! So what is the radio station I’m a little out of talk radio!!

  6. Butch permalink
    January 28, 2009 12:09 am

    By the way the lady is from South Roxana!

  7. Nicole Sneed permalink
    February 2, 2009 10:40 am

    I just threw up a little in my mouth. I’ve eaten at Jack-in-the-Box like twice in the last week…hopefully not the one you’re referring to. It was in Missouri, right????

  8. Bella permalink*
    February 3, 2009 10:10 pm

    Yeah the jack in the box was on 370 and Elm in New Town St. Charles. I won’t be eating there….ever.

    The radio station was 97.1 FM. Dave Glover is my hero.

Leave a Reply

