Skip to content

pinnochio

December 14, 2008

20 years of school.  20 years of paper writing and test taking and book reading.  20 years of missed social events and late night cramming.  20 years of taking notes off the board and pretending to ignore the hygiene deficient ignoramus sitting next to me or behind me or practically on top of me.  20 years of dodging the principal or dean or lunch lady.  20 years of raising my hand or excusing my absence.  20 years of creatively explaining my tardiness in class or in assignment.  I have learned a lot over the past 20 years.  Very little has been attributed to my hard work and dedication.  I’ve learned more from what I didn’t walk away with than what I did.  

I seriously can hardly believe that I’m 24 and completely done with homework and lecture and debate.  Half of the people I just took my last semester with were over the age of 40 and talking about putting their own children through college.  I’m not sure how they did it.  I had the convenience of being single through 99.9% of my scholastic career.  I never had to deal with the rigors of parenting and being a wife while also gathering empirical data for a 45 page survey report.  I was even lucky enough to have a husband willing to do my laundry for the 2 months I schooled and wifed simultaneously.  

Regardless, today after church I came home and sat on the couch.  My husband played x-box…and I….well I DID NOT write a paper.  I didn’t try to study for a test last minute.  I didn’t even write an email to my professor explaining how my job had suddenly assigned me to a short business trip in Alaska preventing me from attending class tomorrow evening.  It was surreal. I watched TV and ate pizza.

Friday at work a woman I know asked me how I felt to be free.  My response….”Consider me Pinnochio. I am now a real girl”.  

She laughed…but I’m serious.  I even did the little “wooden puppet dance” around our living room.  My pet cricket dug it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2008 10:41 pm

    You are so warped! (In a good way!) I hope you blog more now that you have free time. You’ll never make a penny doing it but you’ll give a lot of joy to those who love you and enjoy reading about your newly freed-up life!

    So glad you are “my kid.” Hug Toph for me….

  2. jamie toolen permalink
    December 15, 2008 12:10 pm

    Hmm, is your little wooden puppet dance anything like your lollipop guild dance? That’s pretty hard to top!

    Congratulations again girl! I’m so proud of you 🙂

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

