Skip to content

cable knit sweaters

October 15, 2008

In the airport today I had my moment.  That one moment you may be lucky enough to experience while on a vacation where you look down at your half way read book that has yet to be dog eared, nearly petting your “costs like cotton but resembles a cashmere mix” cable knit sweater and drinking your 8th diet coke of the past hour.  It’s the moment that follows I sincerely dislike.  The one where you remember the unpacked bags, the unbought text books, the unread syllabi and the unpaid bills.  Life is still waiting.  Unpatiently.  The list that you tore up in a rejoicing fit of “vacation” suddenly seem to be rebuilding in your brain as every second goes buy.  Suddenly your book seems too silly for concentration, your sweater seems scratchy to the touch and your diet coke goes flat.  Vacations are so bittersweet.  So difficult to look forward too.  So fun to experience.  So hard to leave behind.  

Pardon me while I sulk about working through my toughest semester yet and settling in as a new wife.  It’s catching up and it’s only been 2 hours since I’ve walked through the door.  Luckily….my new husband is walking through that same door with Penn Station.  I must go divulge in my remaining vacation moments…in my “soft again” sweater.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2008 9:13 pm

    I live in Cleveland. It is raining. It is in the 70’s at 10:41PM and the humidity is through the roof (and my building is 11 stories high.) To top it off … the decided to switch the building from air conditioning to heat while we were gone.

    I miss Beaver Creek.

    And I think I want my mommy.

  2. October 15, 2008 9:21 pm

    what was that??? did I hear you say “vacation”???

  3. Bella permalink*
    October 15, 2008 11:56 pm

    that’s right….vacation….or honeymoon. I LOVE THEM ALL!!!

    i HAVE to find a way to get rich so we cal grow old and vacation everyday. it has to happen Kelli. It just has to happen.

Leave a Reply

