Skip to content

August 24, 2008

I remember watching the opening ceremonies for the Winter Games of 94′ in my grandma’s kitchen.  I was only 10 but it was something I’ll never forget.  I think my recollectionof these events were  embedded for three reasons.  The first is because this was the first Olympics that was split between winter and summer and I imagine the media kind of made a bigger deal out of it than necessary in order to get some extra viewer interest.  The second reason…..I got my Sega that year along with the “94′ LIllehammer Olympic Games” cartridge.  I was the best freaking bob sledder of all time (digitally).  And finally, speaking of bob sledders the third reason those games with live immortally in my mind….Cool Runnings came out just a few months beforehand and I was seriously dying for some quirky Jamaicans to come out of the woodwork.

Regardless, I always find myself quite emotional on the night of closing ceremonies.  After all the medals have been given and all the scandals have played out and all the national anthems have been overly orchestrated….I crave the honesty of it all.  Nothing on TV can even remotely touch the emotions that we get “TRUTHFULLY” from the Olympians who pour their heart into their talents.  This year we all gushed with Michael Phelps mother who relayed her pride for her son EVERY single time he raced.  We even related to the German gymnast and mother who was practically geriatric in athletic terms at the young age of 33.  I mostly related to the guy who broke his arm trying to lift like a trillion lbs. over his head.  I would totally do something embarrassing for people to loop continuously on Youtube.

It’s crazy how much I always desire so much to be a part of these games.  In fact, during those 94′ Olympics, I informed my mom that I would be changing my name to Tonya when I turned 18 in honor of my hero Tonya Harding.  That worked out well.  But seriously….I wasn’t about to change it to Nancy.  That would be a step in the wrong direction.

Now I’m back to watching America’s Got Talent (which they don’t) and waiting for LOST to come back.  It’s a sad world without my Olympian pole vaulters….but I will manage till 2012.  By then who knows…maybe I’ll be ready to compete.  Digitally of course.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2008 8:51 am

    I can so see you entering the Olympic “poop scooping” event! I think that Sydney was sent to help you train. 🙂 I can only imagine what the gold medal would look like. Ugh.

    Somehow I find myself shocked that you were only 10 on 1994. I mean, that math works but it seems so incomprehensible! Life is a blur!

  2. August 27, 2008 2:36 pm

    LOL, I would not change my name to Nancy either. But how about changing it to Kristi Yamaguchi? YOu have to agree she’s much more classy than Tonya. Plus, she’s my hero!!

Leave a Reply

