Skip to content

Sunday Morning Update:

August 3, 2008

I just realized I have not logged on to give any pertinent information in over a week.  As everyone knows….a lot can happen in the week of the girl who is getting married in 60 (something) days, is changing states, jobs and degree titles all within a few short months.  Needless to say…its always fun to see the face of someone who doesn’t know me that well when I show them my calendar.  It’s almost the same look I get when I introduce a friend to my fiance.  I want to explain it as shock…but it’s more muddled confusion.

However, a few of those life stressors will be checked off my list in the next 8 days.  For one…I got the job I had been interviewing for.  It’s been such a blessing to receive this position.  I remember when on my first interview (in 6 months) my now new boss informed he had pulled my resume out of the rejected pile.  I had only been rejected due to my residental distance from the organization.  Once he read my cover letter he realized I was relocating and immediately put me back into the “I’m so gonna hire this girl” pile.  Needless to say that really spoke to me.  I had been, up until that point, job searching endlessly.  Ten resumes a week for 6 months and NOTHING was panning out.  I was down to 3 months before the wedding and there was a chance me and my fiance would be living seperately until I found something…even after the wedding.  God really waited until I had a mental breakdown and He could swoop in at nearly the last second to make me realize how much I really believed I would get a job simply on my own merit.  As if I had earned it.  Good thing I serve an amazing God who never lets me stop understanding just how worthless I am to this world….especially when I choose not to have faith in Him.

Secondly, me and the Topherky have finally signed the lease.  This Thursday morning I will be showing up to our St. Charles apartment with a UHAUL and several boxes full of shoes.  It has been so much fun planning for this and buying furniture…I’m not sure I’ve really been able to realize the intensity of it all.  Oh well….I still have to pay rent regardless.  I’ll post pictures soon.  It should only take 1 or 2 shots to get it all considering it’s about 600 square feet….and our bed is about 450 of it.

So to wrap it all up…Wed is my last day at the credit union…which I am eternally sad about.  I love working with two women who love the LORD and love me.  It’s been such a blessing to work in an environment that chooses not to partake in backbiting and otherwise normal womanly behavior.  I will miss that.  I truly pray I’m being taken into a place that is even remotely comparable.  I also hope they have someone there that likes to bake.  Every office needs one of those people who randomly shows up with brownies once in awhile.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2008 12:15 pm

    Yeah. That’s one honken bed. Entire football teams use to work out on it. Once it stretched into two counties. Weather systems form on it and move off with the jet stream.

    Why do people look funny when they are introduced to Topher?

  2. August 3, 2008 3:44 pm

    Hey, I’ll teach you the secret Woods brownie recipe! Topher likes powdered sugar only on his.
    Debbie….

  3. topher permalink
    August 4, 2008 12:22 am

    i guess that joke is on me?

  4. August 4, 2008 9:47 pm

    not on you….about you.

    i love you none the less.

Leave a Reply

