Skip to content

February 13, 2008

So I suck at writing blogs.  I can’t help myself.  I felt for a while I had a legitimate excuse for not writing anything on account of my weeks worth of 102 temperatures and hacking cough.  But that has long passed and still…I don’t write.

I’ll start first with an update on the Colorado trip.  Despite the near death feeling of constant fever and altitude related headaches it was really a lot of fun.  I was excited to get to see the place I will be getting married even though I was kind of looking forward to that element of surprise.  We visited the chapel and the (hopefully) restaurant we will be eating in following the ceremony.  We saw florists and hairdressers and lots of Mexicans.  It was great.  Getting to hang out with Jim and Alisha was awesome even though I was far from a fun travel companion.  I’m sure by the end of it they were so happy to drop me off at my gate….but I appreciate them being so patient with me while I whined and complained.  Overall the trip was a success….although I fear I sweated all over poor Rosie’s condo and managed to spread my sickness to everyone I came into close contact with.  So like I said…success.

School has been going pretty good.  And by pretty good I mean…this class is almost over and I haven’t managed to totally embarrass myself yet. I took the midterm on Saturday and it took me a mere 3 hours and 45 minutes to complete.  Let me add that it was only 50 questions long.  So basically…by the end of it I felt like a success for finishing it….and also a complete dunce for taking so long in doing it.  Luckily I was sick on the day that I was actually scheduled to take the test….thus forcing me to take it without the pressure of a classroom that managed to finish the test within the 3 hour time limit.  I took my sweet time.  And I’m dang proud of it.

Last night at dinner Chris asked me if when I finished this degree if I would be buying him a new laptop. I sat bewildered for a moment… when I questioned him on what in the world would cause him to think HE would get a present for my graduation…his response was simply “Laura….you should know something….I get things”.  So thank you future in-laws.  I really appreciate you setting me up for a life of my husband “getting things” in response to my hard work and dedication.  Valentines Day should be lovely.  I’m gonna go ahead and assume that this year I might get to watch him buy himself a Playstation 3 or some other “chris” related item.

In completely unrelated news….I’m considering moving the furniture around in my room in an attempt to create a new and more motivated energy.  It’s cheaper than buying a case of Redbull…and much less distressing than admitting than I’m completely lazy.  I have to do it soon though…between the first week in March and the last week of August I will be taking on 6 eight week classes. God help me if that DVR get’s the best of me again! 

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 13, 2008 2:17 am

    Ya know, Bella, I’m not sure how that whole “I get things” attitude got started. I think it was when Bear began writing to him in poop out in the dog run. Obviously WE didn’t do anything to encourage it.

    By the way, can I have a new laptop too? 🙂

    The guilty almost-father-in-law

Leave a Reply

