Skip to content

January 30, 2008

Weather is awful.  Today at lunch it was 65 degrees outside.  It was sunny and lovely.  I rolled down my window and let the cool breeze in to mess up my hair.  Of course when I came back to the office I made sure to pull myself back together.  I had a meeting with a representative from the American Heart Association concerning an event we are involved in this May.  I didn’t want to look like a crazy disheveled maniac…so I brushed the hair….re powdered the face….re glossed the lips.  However, a short 30 minutes later I noticed I had a voice-mail on my phone.  As I listened to the message I couldn’t help but hit the speaker button so my office mate could listen in.  The woman I was supposed to meet with was calling me in a panic saying that she was on her way but had decided to turn around.  It was now a safety issue.  She felt that his inclement weather was perhaps too dangerous and being that she was just recently relocated from Las Vegas….she hadn’t been accustomed to this kind of weather.  

Me and my office mate had a great laugh over this. At that point it was a little grey outside…but still totally drive-able.  We joked that we may never be able to leave the office….Lord knows there was no WAY were gonna drive with the sky being THAT grey….

And then……all heck broke loose.  Snow and wind and rain and ice!  How is that even possible???  A 20 degree difference…from May to January in 3 hours?? 

I despise Illinois.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 30, 2008 12:53 am

    Well here’s a great idea. Move to Cleveland. It was 50 when I got to the office this morning. I washed the Trail Blazer at 1PM. Put it in the garage at 1:30. Went out again at 3:30. It was 35, raining, but the fog kept me from noticing. They just said that about midnight the winds will clock between 50 – 60mph on the lake shore which, as you know, is where I live. Actually, 90 feet ABOVE the lake shore. By morning it will be 15 degrees with several inches of snow on the ground. And the lake? It is going to be so HACKED OFF. I’ll have to drive AROUND the wave spray to get to the road. Am I exaggerating? I think not …

Leave a Reply

